Print Titles
Accounting for Value by
Accounting for Value teaches investors and analysts how to handle accounting in evaluating equity investments. The book's novel approach shows that valuation and accounting are much the same: valuation is actually a matter of accounting for value. Laying aside many of the tools of modern finance--the cost-of-capital, the CAPM, and discounted cash flow analysis--Stephen Penman returns to the common-sense principles that have long guided fundamental investing: price is what you pay but value is what you get; the risk in investing is the risk of paying too much; anchor on what you know rather than speculation; and beware of paying too much for speculative growth. Penman puts these ideas in touch with the quantification supplied by accounting, producing practical tools for the intelligent investor. Accounting for value provides protection from paying too much for a stock and clues the investor in to the likely return from buying growth. Strikingly, the analysis finesses the need to calculate a "cost-of-capital," which often frustrates the application of modern valuation techniques. Accounting for value recasts "value" versus "growth" investing and explains such curiosities as why earnings-to-price and book-to-price ratios predict stock returns. By the end of the book, Penman has the intelligent investor thinking like an intelligent accountant, better equipped to handle the bubbles and crashes of our time. For accounting regulators, Penman also prescribes a formula for intelligent accounting reform, engaging with such controversial issues as fair value accounting.
ISBN: 9780231151184Publication Date: 2010-12-30
Accounting in a Business Context by
Now in its fifth edition, this highly respected and popular text provides non-specialist accounting and finance students on business studies courses with an essential introduction to the role of accounting in a wider managerial setting.Completely updated to reflect recent changes in International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), Accounting in a Business Context is one of the most comprehensive texts available. The logical step-by-step approach introduces students to accounting initially by considering an accessible cash-based small business, then carefully builds layers of complexity (e.g. buying and selling on credit) to facilitate clear understanding.New to this Edition- Updated to reflect recent changes in International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS)- Newpedagogical features to aid learning, including "Learning Outcomes' and 'Activity' boxes- Increased use of real-life examples in the case studies- Use of more international companies in case studies and examples- Enhanced online support resources- Exciting new text design
ISBN: 9781408030479Publication Date: 2011-02-04
MBA Fundamentals Accounting and Finance by
How do you make sense of the accounting report or balance sheet you've just been handed? How do these reports help you to understand the company's performance? How do you use the numbers you have been given to make good business decisions in the short- and long-term? "MBA Fundamentals in Accounting and Finance "offers real-world accounting and finance basics that can be applied today. In the business world, we are frequently called on to review and analyze financial data. This convenient and straightforward guide offers everything you need to know about the numbers to ensure your business's growth. Understand the functions of accountingLearn how to read a financial statements, balance sheets, income statements, and moreAnalyze profit and cash flowImprove your forecasting and strategic-planning skills
ISBN: 9781427797193Publication Date: 2009-01-06
Entrepreneurial Finance and Accounting for High-Tech Companies by Call Number: HG4026 .F3298 2016ISBN: 9780262034982Publication Date: 2016-11-18
Financial and Managerial Accounting by Call Number: HF5636 W3373 2020ISBN: 9781337902663Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Health Care Finance by Call Number: RA971.3 .B353 2014ISBN: 9781449687274Publication Date: 2013-08-21
Book Reviews
- Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development. Useful for educators, researchers, students, publishers, librarians, and patrons, Book Review Digest Plus provides access to concise, critical evaluations for books with subject coverage in areas such as art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences and many more
This link opens in a new window
- Books in Print This link opens in a new window Books in Print is a tool for finding books and multimedia published in any format, including e-books. It also contains book reviews, availability information, and synopses. The new interface allows users to create custom lists of titles. unlimited users. Content updated irregularly
- This link opens in a new window
eBooks
Accounting Best Practices by
Praise for "Accounting Best Practices Sixth Edition" "For a comprehensive, yet easy-to-read guide to fixing thoseall-too-common shortcomings in your accounting department, look nofurther than this excellent book. Steve Bragg provides hundreds offixes, many of them requiring surprisingly little time or costwhile providing a handy guide to common implementation pitfalls . .. I would recommend this invaluable book to anyone who is lookingto enhance their existing processes, whether due to growth in theirbusiness, compliance with Sarbanes-Oxley, or just as part of theirongoing improvement process."--Martyn Webster, CPA, Director of FinanceXenoPort, Inc. "This book is critical to running an efficient and accurateaccounting department. The use of RFID technology to trackdocuments is one of many valuable tools in this latest edition. Arequired read for the demanding accounting manager's role."--Jason Charet, CPA "I've used Steve Bragg's "Accounting Best Practices" booksfor years as a source of ideas for improvement. Like the previouseditions, the Fifth Edition has a number of new, actionable bestpractices as well as refinements of those ideas reported inprevious editions. The books are broad enough in their perspectiveso that nearly any organization could find ideas that could payback the cost of the book many times over."--John Temmerman, Controller, Evangelical Lutheran Churchin America "What a great resource I have been in the accounting field forover twenty years, and I was still able to gain insight intoimproving processes within my office. Thanks for putting it all inone book "--Tina M. Thomas, CPA, CTP, Controller, Goodman &Company, LLP
ISBN: 9780470591093Publication Date: 2010-02-05
Advances in Accounting Behavioral Research by
Advances in Accounting Behavioral Research publishes high-quality research encompassing all areas of accounting including financial, auditing, taxation, managerial and information systems, addressing a broad range of issues that affect the users, preparers and assurers of accounting information. Further, this research incorporates theory from, and contributes knowledge and understanding to, applied psychology, sociology, management science, and behavioral economics.
ISBN: 9781785609770Publication Date: 2016-11-04
- ebook Business Collection This link opens in a new window This collection offers more than 12,000 eBook titles selected to assist students and scholars with various business research, special project and entrepreneurial needs, and to help students understand general business concepts. A key resource for academic and business school libraries, content within the eBook Business Collection encompasses a variety of business topics, such as marketing, finance, supply chain management and entrepreneurship, with additional focus on career growth, personal development, communication and networking.
- This link opens in a new window
Finance: Auditing and Financial Systems and Taxation: Course Book by ISBN: 9781472734907Publication Date: 2015
eBooks
Bookkeeping and Accounting by
What could be better than the bestselling Schaum's Outline series? For students looking for a quick nuts-and-bolts overview, it would have to be Schaum's Easy Outline series. Every book in this series is a pared-down, simplified, and tightly focused version of its predecessor. With an emphasis on clarity and brevity, each new title features a streamlined and updated format and the absolute essence of the subject, presented in a concise and readily understandable form. Graphic elements such as sidebars, reader-alert icons, and boxed highlights stress selected points from the text, illuminate keys to learning, and give students quick pointers to the essentials. Designed to appeal to underprepared students and readers turned off by dense text Cartoons, sidebars, icons, and other graphic pointers get the material across fast Concise text focuses on the essence of the subject Deliver expert help from teachers who are authorities in their fields Perfect for last-minute test preparation So small and light that they fit in a backpack
ISBN: 0071431063Publication Date: 2004-01-01
