Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Gale's 19th Century U.S. Newspapers -- a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database -- provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Every aspect of society and every region of the nation is found in the archive -- rural and urban, large cities and small towns, coast to coast, etc. Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests. Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings of many artists.

Newspapers included are:
New York Herald (NY)
Lynchburg Virginian (VA)
Pacific Commercial Advertiser (HI)
Rocky Mountain News (CO)
Southern Illustrated News (VA)
Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago)
Milwaukee Sentinel (WI)
The Bee (OH)
The Mountaineer (SC)
With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of a growing body of knowledge. Researchers will have access to current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry--from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. With strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 600 journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields. In addition, more than 30 Delmar titles provide in-depth coverage on a variety of agriculture-related topics.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
American Fiction, 1774-1920, demonstrates the utility of having more than 18,000 works of fiction in one place, in a consistent format. Titles up until 1900 are sourced from Lyle H. Wright's American Fiction: A Contribution Towards a Bibliography. Titles after 1900 are sourced from the Library of Congress Shelf List of American Adult Fiction and the Geoffrey D. Smith bibliography.
The official and ultimate resource on APA Style. The APA Style CENTRAL has a digital library of APA Style quick guides and tutorials to refine your writing.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index is a reference standard for libraries. It allows you to quickly determine where to find biographical material on people from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor. Biography and Genealogy Master Index is unquestionably the best place to begin your search for biographical information. It indexes current, easily accessible references sources, as well as important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches indexed now exceeds 17 million citations and points to more than 2000 publications, covering over 5 million people. Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains names, birth/ death years, and bibliographic references to books containing material on that person and an indication of which books or articles include a portrait.
All source citations include full bibliographic details.
Sources include biographical dictionaries, who's who, subject encyclopedias and volumes of literary criticis
Book Review Index Plus includes more than 5 million book reviews, allowing users to conduct research in numerous disciplines, including literature, history, education, psychology, and more. This unique product is OpenURL compliant, which allows subscribers to link to full-text reviews from other sources.The benchmark reference for reviews of every kind, the original print edition of Book Review Index provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests.
Content Includes
More than 240 full-text publications
Cover-to-cover indexing for more than 260 publications
More than 400,000 records with subject headings from an extensive thesaurus
Subjects Include
Business continuity management
Business continuity planning
Business impact analysis
Contingency auditing
Crisis communications
Disaster mitigation
Emergency preparedness
Regulatory issues
Risk evaluation
Strategic planning
The Business Economics & Theory Collection offers instant access to full-text academic journals and magazines--with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. Powered by InfoTrac, it includes more than 1,800 titles. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
New
Released three times a year, The Children's Legal Rights Journal (CLRJ) is edited by Loyola students with the cooperation of the National Association of Counsel for Children. The CLRJ focuses on the broad range of legal issues confronting children. Its goal is to provide practitioners in law and related fields with the practical resources they need to be effective advocates for their child clients. The CLRJ encourages interdisciplinary submissions as well as more traditional law-related articles.
Deliver reliable automotive help online 24/7 through ChiltonLibrary, trusted by automotive enthusiasts and professionals for more than 100 years. This continually updated resource provides:

Step-by-step service and repair procedures
Wiring diagrams
Maintenance and specification tables
Troubleshooting guides and diagnostic trouble codes
Photos, illustrations, diagrams and multimedia (videos and animations)
ASE test prep
Powered by InfoTrac, the Communications & Mass Media Collection brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Computer Database provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
New
Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
The Criminal Justice Collection informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more. The Criminal Justice Collection makes research easy by bringing together information from more than 250 journals. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
New
The Culinary Arts Collection offers a smorgasbord of information--more than five million articles from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as book reference content from Delmar such as About Wine, Introduction to Catering, Advanced Bread and Pastry, and Eat Fit Be Fit.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder,and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
e-Libro provides seamless access to over 80,000 Latin American and Spanish titles and offers researchers a suite of unparalleled research tools, including:

Bookshelf feature for saving of books, chapters and segments of text with citations
Powerful search capabilities
Mobile support
Text-to-speech functionality
Support of English and Spanish languages
Cross searches all ebooks in the Gale Literary Sources
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator--from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
New
Business, Management & Strategy
• 25,000 articles
from 55 journals by the end of 2018
• Over 1,900 articles scheduled to publish
in 2018
• 5.2 million articles downloaded in 2016
The Environmental Studies & Policy Collection is a digital resource that answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
New Popular
Teach with the best Hollywood has to offer and harness the storytelling power of film as a tool for engaging and inspiring students. The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. Brought to you in partnership with Global Eagle, this outstanding collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. (Currently has 637 titles).

This collection is available only in the United States. Some Feature Films titles contain mature themes or content; viewer discretion is advised.
New
The Fine Arts & Music Collection places 10.4 million articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
New
The Gale Directory Library offers a wide-range of data sorting, filtering, and exporting options so users can tailor results and put them to practical use. Covers 60+ years of valued directories.
This interface cross-searches ALL TexShare-licensed Gale literature resources
Gale Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Gale Primary Sources takes users beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, allowing them to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets.
New
Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection serves horticultural enthusiasts of all levels with more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles from Delmar, including Handbook of Flowers; Foliage and Creative Design; Computer Graphics for Landscape Architects; and more.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
New
Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience
New
Global Issues In Context supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.

Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search—Global Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues In Context, Global Issues Viewpoints contains more than 3,000 exclusive commentaries that provide background and guidance on significant topics.
Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Library science students, information science and technology professionals, and others will value the Information Science & Library Issues Collection. It is updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Informe Académico meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Informe Académico provides quality reference material--not simply translations of English-language materials--on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
New
The Journal of Public and Professional Sociology is the official journal of the Georgia Sociological Association. JPPS publishes refereed works of research and theory focusing on both public and professional sociology.

For more information, see our Aims and Scope page.
The Physics I collection covers classical mechanics and thermodynamics discussing relevant laws and equations; every topic is presented with experiments validating theoretical hypothesis, and real world contextual examples.

The Physics II collection explores topics including electrostatics, magnetism, optics, wave-based oscillations, and electrical circuits; explaining underlying principles behind physical phenomena that have changed our world.
New
LearnTechLib currently includes three main types of records:

records with full-text (or, in the case of multimedia records, videos or other media)
abstracts/citations with links to full-text on an external site
abstracts/citations without fulltext
Overall, LearnTechLib has over 40,000 full-text articles, and 60,000+ abstracts without full-text.

Email info@learntechlib.org for access to a listing of full coverage.
Ideal for students, law school faculty, and legal researchers, LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text. The American Association of Law Libraries not only endorses LegalTrac, its special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Provide access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 150,000 full-text poems and over 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Researchers can easily target the information they are looking for through various refine search and results limiter options. Biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary are also included. The easy-to-use search paths allow users to easily target the information they are looking for or to browse the database through various refine search and results limiter options.
Researchers can find everything from the sonnets of Shakespeare to the poetry of Maya Angelou, the love poetry of the 13th century to contemporary poems by African American women, the inaugural speeches of George Washington through George W. Bush, short stories by Edgar Allan Poe to stories by up-and-coming writer Elizabeth Weld, or essays on such subjects as the arts, science, and religion. Quickly retrieve a particular writer or identifies authors linked by such qualities as gender, nationality, century, and genre using person search. A works search provides similar limiters and the ability to browse works by thousands of subjects, themes, genres, and movements. Basic and advanced search modes allow users to search by keyword, author, subject, work title, work date, nationality, gender, century, and more
Designed specifically for high school level. Full-text articles are assigned reading level indicators (Lexiles). Many full-text biographies and primary source documents are included. Many reference books, such as the Our States Series, are also included, as is a large image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
New
Mergent Archives is an online database featuring a vast, indexed collection of more than a century’s worth of global corporate and industry related documents. This collection contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries. Mergent Archives uses a reliable and easy-to-navigate system designed to meet your historical research needs.
Military and Intelligence Database Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
With a strong emphasis on full text titles cited in CINAHL and over 10 million articles, this collection's current and authoritative content will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. Nursing & Allied Health Collection comes to the rescue of nursing students, physician’s assistant students, and researchers in allied health fields who are looking for answers related to the specialized care, treatment, and management of all sorts of patients.

Nursing & Allied Health Collection features an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Featuring the latest technologies like highlighting, note-taking, and document translation into over 20 languages, all available on the PowerSearch® platform, this essential resource is versatile and easy to use. The search interface also includes an enhanced ‘Did you Mean?’ suggestion and Search Assist type-ahead feature to aid researchers in finding the correct information.
WHAT YOU CAN FIND
• A growing number of high quality scholarly journals,
published by OUP.
• Diverse subject areas – with prestigious titles in
Medicine, Life Sciences, Humanities, Social Sciences,
Law, and Mathematics and Physical Sciences.
• OUP has the highest percentage of journals in the top
10% by impact factor, and the lowest percentage of
journals in the bottom 50%, among publishers with
over 100 journals in ISI Impact Factor ranking.
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Pop Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
This full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.
Religion & Philosophy Collection features a selection of more than 200 magazines and academic journals--everything from Anglican Journal to Zygon--covering religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology. Researchers can use this database not only to study theological approaches to social issues, but also to learn about the impact that religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Coverage, which includes more than 1.1 million articles updated daily, begins as early as 1980 for indexing and 1983 for periodical full text.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 offers a perspective on life in the western hemisphere, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century. Covering more than 400 years and more than 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies, this easy-to-use digital collection highlights the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of the time through sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, and more.
This digital collection, drawn from Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time, includes the following topics:

Discovery and exploration of the Americas — accounts from British, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, and Danish explorers and adventurers
Colonization — features both American and European views and firsthand accounts of colonial life
Slavery — memoirs, original speeches, lectures, sermons, discourses, reports to legislatures across America, pamphlets, books, and international essays
Cities and states — the social and political evolution of America's major cities and states
Civil War — a wide array of memoirs, political tracts, published legislative proceedings, and broadsides
Reconstruction — records that describe the reorganization and re-establishment of the seceded states in the Union after the Civil War
American women — education, civil rights, domestic life, and employment
Native Americans — essays, booklets, treaties, land tracts, congressional speeches, journals, and letters that document social attitudes and personal experiences
Immigration — pamphlets, broadsides, speeches, articles, and books
Constitution — pamphlets, letters, speeches, and essays provide detailed information about the early political organization of the American colonies
Founded in 1880 with the support of American inventor Thomas Edison, Science
has grown to become the world’s leading publication for cutting-edge research,
scientific news, and commentary, with the largest paid circulation of any
peer-reviewed general-science journal.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
In its entirety, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never-before-available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.


Additionally, many of research tools – research guides, subject outlines, and scholarly essays on the subject – highlight the value of the content and assist students with access to the primary materials; introductory essays on sources will describe archival collections history and explain their research value. A subject guide search allows researchers to submit searches against the archive's subject vocabulary.
New Trial
This e-book package began 2/12/2018 and runs through 2/11/2019. During this period we have access to the 25,268 Springer e-books with copyright dates of 2015-2017 (last 3 years). The library will use usage data and collection development policy to choose which of the collection to purchase at that time, and those purchased e-books will remain in perpetual access to TAMUT authorized users. Please give feedback to your librarians so that we keep books you find useful!
Student Resources In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
Content Includes
More than 500 full-text journals
Cover-to-cover indexing for more than 900 publications
More than 940,000 records with subject headings from an extensive thesaurus
Benchmarks and best practices
Topics Include:
Corporate social responsibility
Environmental stewardship
Federal, state and local regulations
"Green" issues and initiatives
ISO 14000
LEED
Recycling
Renewable energy
Resource conservation
Social entrepreneurship
Sustainable business practices
Waste reduction
New
New
The records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) on free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics support the study of American legal history and complement the modules in the Making of Modern Law series. Documents include newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records. The papers are held at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library at Princeton University.
U.S. History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.

Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers. U.S. History In Context is cross-searchable with World History In Context.
Vocations and Careers Collection provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
World History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students. Content is aligned with state and national curriculum standards and is cross searchable with U.S. History In Context.
Covering Latin America culture and society from the fifteenth century to the present day, the collection consists of a Portal and Archive component. Launching with 293 portals based on Person, Topic, Event, Named Work, and Country, users can delve into over 1.3 million pages of archival material (Archive) and hundreds of periodicals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and data feeds (Portal). The Portal and Archive components work together in perfect complement, but each can be purchased or subscribed to individually depending on the needs of the library. The multidisciplinary range of Gale World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean ensures it meets the needs of researchers, postgraduates, and undergraduates with interests in regional studies, history, political science, anthropology, sociology, economics, and international relations.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...