Top Psychology Databases
One of the most efficient ways to locate articles on topics in the psychology field is to use the Library's database resources. These databases are selected and purchased by the Library to provide access to research and information from journals in every discipline.
Major Psychology Databases
- PsycINFOThis database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Covering more than 1,500 leading psychological, psychiatric, and related publications, PsychINFO is designed for both undergraduate and graduate level academic institutions and their libraries.
- DSM Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
DSM-5 Library includes: DSM-5 (The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations.), DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis (helps clinicians and students learning the process of psychiatric diagnosis improve their skill in formulating a comprehensive differential diagnosis by providing a variety of approaches.), DSM-5 Clinical Cases (These cases exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the DSM-5® and Spanish edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5. - Mental Measurements Yearbook & Tests In Print This link opens in a new windowBuros Institute at the University of Nebraska provides MMY users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Covered from 1938 to present. Tests in Print. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
- ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, dissertations, and more
Plus instructional videos, grey literature, and more. Plus, images, charts, graphs all important to research - Psychology + Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from 1995 for journals in psychology and related fields, including peer-reviewed titles. Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. The majority of titles are available in native (searchable) PDF. - Psychology Collection (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Useful Databases
- Academic Video Online (AVON)- Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
On a single cross-searchable platform, users have a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles that your institution subscribes to or owns, including VAST: Academic Video Online (a large, multidisciplinary video product with nearly 17,000 videos and continuing to grow), along with individual discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more. - Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience
Multidiscipline Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database which features journal articles, but includes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Subjects covered include: area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & cultural studies, general science, geography, geology, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, theology, women's studies and other fields.
- JSTOR- Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collections include the complete back runs journals in fifteen disciplines, with many core research journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology. Includes titles in the fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Unlimited users. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
In the Web of Science Core Collection, search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
- All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
- Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
- Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
- See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
- Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
Also available for searching are the KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present), Preprints Citation Index (1991-present), and the SciELO Citation Index (1997-present).
Search Tips
Quick Steps to Locate Journal Articles on a subject
- Use a database (electronic index)
- Start with a broad subject
- Use Boolean Operators (And, Or , Not) to narrow the search
- If you find the perfect article, locate the subject headings/descriptors then search by them, or use the find more like this feature
- Remember to refine by dates and/or peer review
Database Helps & Tutorials
- EBSCOhost Basic Search3 minute Flash Tutorial
- Advanced Search- Guided Style3 minute Flash Tutorial
- My EBSCOhost Folders5 minute Flash Tutorial