Skip to main content

Criminology and Law Enforcement: Background Information

General guide to Criminology and Law Enforcement resources.

Why background Information?

Finding basic information about your topic helps you to understand the broader context of your research.  This is particularly important at the beginning of your research if you are unfarmliar with your topic or uncertain how to narrow the focus of the subject.

Background information can supply: 

  1. Broad overview
  2. Main concepts
  3. Major dates and events
  4. Definitions of terms associated with the topic
  5. Names of people who are authorities in the subject field
  6. Keywords and subject-specific vocabulary terms that can be used for database searches
  7. Bibliographies that lead to additional resources

 

Types of resouces for background information :  Encyclopedias, Guides, Handbooks, Manuals, etc.  

Print Encyclopedias

A sampling of print references you would find looking in the online catalog for the subject ?.  To find additional titles, use the EAGLIT.

Credo Electronic Reference Collection

Online access to a collection of online reference materials covering a wide array of subjects.  (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Guides, etc.)


Electronic Reference Collection by Gale

Online access to a collection of online reference materials covering a variety of subjects.  (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Guides, etc.)

CQ Researcher (Hot Topics)

Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.