Print Titles
A Mathematical Tapestry by
This easy-to-read 2010 book demonstrates how a simple geometric idea reveals fascinating connections and results in number theory, the mathematics of polyhedra, combinatorial geometry, and group theory. Using a systematic paper-folding procedure it is possible to construct a regular polygon with any number of sides. This remarkable algorithm has led to interesting proofs of certain results in number theory, has been used to answer combinatorial questions involving partitions of space, and has enabled the authors to obtain the formula for the volume of a regular tetrahedron in around three steps, using nothing more complicated than basic arithmetic and the most elementary plane geometry. All of these ideas, and more, reveal the beauty of mathematics and the interconnectedness of its various branches. Detailed instructions, including clear illustrations, enable the reader to gain hands-on experience constructing these models and to discover for themselves the patterns and relationships they unearth.
ISBN: 9780521128216Publication Date: 2010-07-22
Discrete Mathematics by
Focused on helping readers understand and construct proofs - and, generally, expanding their mathematical maturity - this best-seller is an accessible introduction to discrete mathematics. Takes an algorithmic approach that emphasizes problem-solving techniques. Expands discussion on how to construct proofs and treatment of problem solving. Increases number of examples and exercises throughout.
ISBN: 9780131593183Publication Date: 2007-12-29
The Numbers Game by
The Strunk & White of statistics team up to help the average person navigate the numbers in the news. Drawing on their hugely popular BBC Radio 4 show More or Less,/I>, journalist Michael Blastland and internationally known economist Andrew Dilnot delight, amuse, and convert American mathphobes by showing how our everyday experiences make sense of numbers. The radical premise of The Numbers Gameis to show how much we already know, and give practical ways to use our knowledge to become cannier consumers of the media. In each concise chapter, the authors take on a different themesuch as size, chance, averages, targets, risk, measurement, and dataand present it as a memorable and entertaining story. If youve ever wondered what average really means, whether the scare stories about cancer risk should convince you to change your behavior, or whether a story you read in the paper is biased (and how), you need this book. Blastland and Dilnot show how to survive and thrive on the torrent of numbers that pours through everyday life. Its the essential guide to every cause you love or hate, and every issue you follow, in the language everyone uses.
ISBN: 9781592404230Publication Date: 2008-12-26
A Short Course in Math Methods with... . by
This unique book provides a streamlined, self-contained and modern text for one-semester mathematical methods course with an emphasis on concepts important from the application point of view. It uses the Maple computer algebra system as an instructional tool to familiarize students with powerful software that deepens their understanding of traditional mathematical techniques. Maple plays an important role in the problem solving process and has the potential to improve students' problem solving skills. Using Maple as an integral component in the teaching process liberates students from laborious tasks while helping them to concentrate entirely on concepts and on better visualizing the mathematical content. By focusing on a conceptual understanding and geometrical intuition the text closely reflects the way most physicists and engineers actually think about mathematics.
ISBN: 9789812564610Publication Date: 2005-12-01
God Created the Integers by
Bestselling author and physicist Stephen Hawking explores the "masterpieces" of mathematics, 25 landmarks spanning 2,500 years and representing the work of 15 mathematicians, including Augustin Cauchy, Bernard Riemann, and Alan Turing. This extensive anthology allows readers to peer into the mind of genius by providing them with excerpts from the original mathematical proofs and results. It also helps them understand the progression of mathematical thought, and the very foundations of our present-day technologies. Each chapter begins with a biography of the featured mathematician, clearly explaining the significance of the result, followed by the full proof of the work, reproduced from the original publication.
ISBN: 9780762419227Publication Date: 2005-10-04
eBooks
Mathematics for Business, Science, and Technology by
This text is written for high school graduates preparing to take business or science courses at community colleges or universities, working professionals who feel they need a math review from the basics, and young students and working professionals.
ISBN: 9781934404027Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Mathematics by
For most people, mathematics is an abstraction with little connection to the real universe. But some mathematicians have discovered relatively simple yet exceedingly powerful patterns that yield insight into aspects of natural and human behavior. Mathematics presents 10 essays that profile the minds behind such patterns, many of which have surfaced in recent popular culture. Meet Leonardo of Pisa, who worked with Fibonacci numbers and the Golden Section; John von Neumann and John Nash, proponents of game theory; Edward Lorentz, who developed chaos theory; Sid Meier, who has created award-winning computer games, such as Gettysburg and SimGolf; and five other mathematicians. Although the ideas explored here may produce complex results, they are inherently simple in concept, making them appealing, accessible vehicles for acquainting students with the human side of mathematics.
ISBN: 9781604130621Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Schaum's Outline of Theory and Problems of Beginning Finite Mathematics by
Most colleges and universities now require their non-science majors to take a one- or two-semester course in mathematics. Taken by 300,000 students annually, finite mathematics is the most popular. Updated and revised to match the structures and syllabuses of contemporary course offerings, "Schaum's Outline of Beginning Finite Mathematics "provides a thorough review-- with worked examples--of the fundamentals of linear equations and linear growth. Topics covered include games theory, descriptive statistics, normal distribution, probability, binomial distribution, and voting systems and apportionment.
ISBN: 0071460071
Surveys in Modern Mathematics by
This collection of articles from the Independent University of Moscow is derived from the Globus seminars held there. They are given by world authorities, from Russia and elsewhere, in various areas of mathematics and are designed to introduce graduate students to some of the most dynamic areas of mathematical research. The seminars aim to be informal, wide-ranging and forward-looking, getting across the ideas and concepts rather than formal proofs, and this carries over to the articles here. Topics covered range from computational complexity, algebraic geometry, dynamics, through to number theory and quantum groups. The volume as a whole is a fascinating and exciting overview of contemporary mathematics.
ISBN: 9780521547932Publication Date: 2005-04-14
Guide to Mathematical Methods by
A second edition of this text for science and engineering undergraduates which introduces the mathematical techniques and tools needed to solve the mathematical problems they will face on the first year of their course. Updated and revised by Camilla Jordan, the book now has additional examples and practice your skills sections. As with other titles in the Mathematical Guides series, this book is designed to enable students to acquire confidence and provides a solid foundation for further study
ISBN: 1403914567
Reference books that check out!
The Princeton Companion to Mathematics by
This is a one-of-a-kind reference for anyone with a serious interest in mathematics. Edited by Timothy Gowers, a recipient of the Fields Medal, it presents nearly two hundred entries, written especially for this book by some of the world''s leading mathematicians, that introduce basic mathematical tools and vocabulary; trace the development of modern mathematics; explain essential terms and concepts; examine core ideas in major areas of mathematics; describe the achievements of scores of famous mathematicians; explore the impact of mathematics on other disciplines such as biology, finance, and music--and much, much more. Unparalleled in its depth of coverage, The Princeton Companion to Mathematics surveys the most active and exciting branches of pure mathematics, providing the context and broad perspective that are vital at a time of increasing specialization in the field. Packed with information and presented in an accessible style, this is an indispensable resource for undergraduate and graduate students in mathematics as well as for researchers and scholars seeking to understand areas outside their specialties. Features nearly 200 entries, organized thematically and written by an international team of distinguished contributors Presents major ideas and branches of pure mathematics in a clear, accessible style Defines and explains important mathematical concepts, methods, theorems, and open problems Introduces the language of mathematics and the goals of mathematical research Covers number theory, algebra, analysis, geometry, logic, probability, and more Traces the history and development of modern mathematics Profiles more than ninety-five mathematicians who influenced those working today Explores the influence of mathematics on other disciplines Includes bibliographies, cross-references, and a comprehensive index Contributors incude: Graham Allan, Noga Alon, George Andrews, Tom Archibald, Sir Michael Atiyah, David Aubin, Joan Bagaria, Keith Ball, June Barrow-Green, Alan Beardon, David D. Ben-Zvi, Vitaly Bergelson, Nicholas Bingham, Béla Bollobás, Henk Bos, Bodil Branner, Martin R. Bridson, John P. Burgess, Kevin Buzzard, Peter J. Cameron, Jean-Luc Chabert, Eugenia Cheng, Clifford C. Cocks, Alain Connes, Leo Corry, Wolfgang Coy, Tony Crilly, Serafina Cuomo, Mihalis Dafermos, Partha Dasgupta, Ingrid Daubechies, Joseph W. Dauben, John W. Dawson Jr., Francois de Gandt, Persi Diaconis, Jordan S. Ellenberg, Lawrence C. Evans, Florence Fasanelli, Anita Burdman Feferman, Solomon Feferman, Charles Fefferman, Della Fenster, José Ferreirós, David Fisher, Terry Gannon, A. Gardiner, Charles C. Gillispie, Oded Goldreich, Catherine Goldstein, Fernando Q. Gouvêa, Timothy Gowers, Andrew Granville, Ivor Grattan-Guinness, Jeremy Gray, Ben Green, Ian Grojnowski, Niccolò Guicciardini, Michael Harris, Ulf Hashagen, Nigel Higson, Andrew Hodges, F. E. A. Johnson, Mark Joshi, Kiran S. Kedlaya, Frank Kelly, Sergiu Klainerman, Jon Kleinberg, Israel Kleiner, Jacek Klinowski, Eberhard Knobloch, János Kollár, T. W. Körner, Michael Krivelevich, Peter D. Lax, Imre Leader, Jean-François Le Gall, W. B. R. Lickorish, Martin W. Liebeck, Jesper Lützen, Des MacHale, Alan L. Mackay, Shahn Majid, Lech Maligranda, David Marker, Jean Mawhin, Barry Mazur, Dusa McDuff, Colin McLarty, Bojan Mohar, Peter M. Neumann, Catherine Nolan, James Norris, Brian Osserman, Richard S. Palais, Marco Panza, Karen Hunger Parshall, Gabriel P. Paternain, Jeanne Peiffer, Carl Pomerance, Helmut Pulte, Bruce Reed, Michael C. Reed, Adrian Rice, Eleanor Robson, Igor Rodnianski, John Roe, Mark Ronan, Edward Sandifer, Tilman Sauer, Norbert Schappacher, Andrzej Schinzel, Erhard Scholz, Reinhard Siegmund-Schultze, Gordon Slade, David J. Spiegelhalter, Jacqueline Stedall, Arild Stubhaug, Madhu Sudan, Terence Tao, Jamie Tappenden, C. H. Taubes, Rüdiger Thiele, Burt Totaro, Lloyd N. Trefethen, Dirk van Dalen, Richard Weber, Dominic Welsh, Avi Wigderson, Herbert Wilf, David Wilkins, B. Yandell, Eric Zaslow, Doron Zeilberger
ISBN: 9780691118802Publication Date: 2008-09-28
A Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics by
This invaluable resource will guide general readers, as well as students, through the often bewildering maze of equations and theorems encountered within the mathematical world. Providing succinct definitions and clear explanations to a wealth of terms, A Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics also enables readers to make new discoveries as they browse and check cross-references. Along with serving as a trustworthy guide to the concepts and terminology of all those topics covered in pure mathematics courses today, it also contains entries on mathematics of more general interest and short biographical sketches of the great mathematicians. Explanatory figures and diagrams complement the text, making this reference volume all the more indispensable.
ISBN: 9780192861030Publication Date: 1990-04-12
Book Reviews
- Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development. Useful for educators, researchers, students, publishers, librarians, and patrons, Book Review Digest Plus provides access to concise, critical evaluations for books with subject coverage in areas such as art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences and many more
This link opens in a new window
- Books in Print This link opens in a new window Books in Print is a tool for finding books and multimedia published in any format, including e-books. It also contains book reviews, availability information, and synopses. The new interface allows users to create custom lists of titles. unlimited users. Content updated irregularly
- This link opens in a new window
