Skip to main content

Database Tutorials and How-to Guides: EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost Databases

EBSCO

EBSCOhost provides multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. The Library's subscription to EBSCO is geared to academic research.

Access EBSCO Databases

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Applied Science and Technology Source
  • Business Source Complete
  • CINAHL Complete
  • Education Source
  • Humanities Source
  • PsycARTICLES
  • PsycINFO
  • SocINDEX Fulltext
  • and many more...

Authentication required.

EBSCOhost User Aids

Research Database Help

How to find key articles on your research topic (DOC)

How to check results for cited references  (HTML)

Tutorials

Introduction to EBSCOhost (6 min)
This tutorial will familiarize you with the EBSCOhost searching interface and these features: search modes, article and image preview via mouseover, the result list, and the enhanced preferences options.

Advanced Search - Guided Style (3 min)
Learn how to conduct an advanced search using EBSCOhost's Guided Style Find Fields, as well as applying limiters and expanders.

Advanced Search - Single Find (3 min)
Learn how to conduct an advanced search using EBSCOhost's Single Find Field, as well as applying limiters and expanders.

Advanced Searching Quiz (6 min)
Test your knowledge of advanced searching features with this interactive quiz by EBSCOhost.

Basic Search (3 min)
This tutorial demonstrates how to conduct a search from the EBSCOhost Basic Search screen.

Creating a Search Alert (2 min)
Learn how to create an search alert in EBSCOhost with this tutorial.

My EBSCOhost (5 min)
This tutorial demonstrates how to set up and make the most of My EBSCOhost, a free personalization folder.

Reading an Article in EBSCOhost (3 min)
This tutorial focuses on the features in the EBSCOhost Detailed Record, including how to read an article.

Result List (6 min)
This tutorial looks at the features of the EBSCOhost Result List, including refining your results with limiters and subject clusters.

 

Product-Specific Tutorials & Guides (Flash, PowerPoint, PDF)

This PowerPoint tutorial explains basic and advanced searching features of this nursing and allied health database.

Business Source: Basic Searching (4.3 min)
This tutorial explains basic searching and key database features.

Business Source: Advanced Searching (4.10 min)
Learn how to make the most of the Business Source database by using advanced searching.

CINAHL Basic Searching (4 min)
Learn how to conduct a basic search for nursing and allied health literature, as well as how to access Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Modules in this Flash tutorial.

CINAHL Advanced Searching (4 min)
Learn how to make the most of the CINAHL headings with advanced search, as well as how to access Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Modules in this Flash tutorial.

eBooks on EBSCOhost - Downloading (4 min)
This Flash tutorial explains how to download electronic books.

eBooks on EBSCOhost - Searching (4 min)
Learn how to search and read eBooks in this Flash tutorial.

Literary Reference Center (4.5 min)
This Flash tutorial demonstrates how to find information on authors and their works.

PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
This quick reference guide from the American Psychological Association demonstrates how to search PsycINFO in Advanced Search mode.

PsycINFO - How to Find Peer-Reviewed Items (2.5 min)
Learn how to use the Publication Type limiter to locate peer-reviewed items in this Flash tutorial.