Print Titles
Enterprise Software Delivery by
Globalization, rapid technology churn, and massive economic shifts have made it more difficult than ever to deliver high-value enterprise software. In Enterprise Software Delivery, IBM Distinguished Engineer Alan W. Brown guides decision-makers in understanding these new challenges, choosing today's best solutions, and successfully anticipating future trends. Alan presents detailed, actionable techniques for building software supply chains that improve agility and innovation while responding to growing cost pressure. Using real-world case studies, he introduces the modern global software factory, demonstrating how to integrate and leverage global outsourced teams, collaborative application lifecycle management, and cloud-based virtual infrastructures. Drawing on his extensive experience leading IBM Rational software strategy, and consulting with IBM enterprise customers, Alan illuminates everything from software R&D to metrics. Coverage includes Understanding recent dramatic changes in enterprise software delivery requirements and practices Overcoming false assumptions, outdated data and delivery models, and inexperience with strategy, innovation, education, or research Incorporating integrators and partners in centers of excellence that specialize in delivering business value Establishing team-based practices that encourage agility, scalability, and quality Building adaptive software factories that integrate real-time feedback and respond rapidly to change Using virtualized collaborative infrastructure to connect worldwide teams for developing software, assembling solutions, and delivering results Transcending barriers related to geography, organization, skills, and culture If you're an enterprise software leader, strategist, or practitioner, this book can help you improve every facet of performance you care about, including agility, quality, predictability, innovation, and value.
ISBN: 9780321803016Publication Date: 2012-06-25
Management Information Systems by
"Management Information Systems" provides comprehensive and integrative coverage of essential new technologies, information system applications, and their impact on business models and managerial decision-making in an exciting and interactive manner. The twelfth edition focuses on the major changes that have been made in information technology over the past two years, and includes new opening, closing, and Interactive Session cases.
ISBN: 9780132142854Publication Date: 2011-01-04
Managing Globally with Information Technology by
As the world economy becomes more interdependent and competition for business continues to be more globally oriented, it has become necessary to address the issues of IT management from a broader global focus. Information technology is not only the enabler of the global marketplace but also a potential solution base for achieving global competitive advantage. The transfer of IT worldwide will be met with many technological barriers and managerial challenges. As global networks and electronic communication become a way of life for business, the management of these emerging technologies worldwide will require new directions and innovative solutions, many of which are addressed here.
ISBN: 193177742XPublication Date: 2003-04-28
The Art of Strategic Planning for Information Technology by
A revision of the bestselling book that shows IT departments how to take on new challenges As technology becomes more mainstream and accessible, companies must develop new ways to use their IT resources in order to compete. In this extensive revision, IT expert Bernard Boar provides a methodology that shows readers how to use IT as a competitive business asset. He tackles the latest challenges facing IT departments over the next several years, including how to devise a complete strategy to make the department more effective and how to choose the best strategy framework for a company. Boar also shows how technologies like e-commerce, data warehousing, architectures, and Java can be used to make a business more competitive.
ISBN: 0471376558Publication Date: 2001-01-25
Book Reviews
- Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development. Useful for educators, researchers, students, publishers, librarians, and patrons, Book Review Digest Plus provides access to concise, critical evaluations for books with subject coverage in areas such as art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences and many more
This link opens in a new window
- Books in Print This link opens in a new window Books in Print is a tool for finding books and multimedia published in any format, including e-books. It also contains book reviews, availability information, and synopses. The new interface allows users to create custom lists of titles. unlimited users. Content updated irregularly
- This link opens in a new window
eBooks
Emerging Topics and Technologies in Information Sytems by
Today, the information systems (IS) discipline faces new challenges. Emerging technologies as well as matured approaches for the social, technical, and developmental role of IS provide a new context for the evolution of the discipline over the next few years. Emerging Topics and Technologies in Information Systems communicates the challenges and opportunities that information systems research is dealing with today while promoting cutting-edge research on how current IS support is creating the critical backbone for the knowledge society. This book is an essential reference for policy makers, government officers, academicians, and practitioners thirsty for knowledge on IS and IT beyond traditional textbooks.
ISBN: 9781605662237Publication Date: 2009-02-28
Business Metadata by
People have a hard time communicating, and also have a hard time finding business knowledge in the environment. With the sophistication of search technologies like Google, business people expect to be able to get their questions answered about the business just like you can do an internet search. The truth is, knowledge management is primitive today, and it is due to the fact that we have poor business metadata management. This book is about all the groundwork necessary for IT to really support the business properly. By providing not just data, but the context behind the data. For the IT professional, it will be tactically practical--very "how to" and a detailed approach to implementing best practices supporting knowledge management. And for the the IT or other manager who needs a guide for creating and justifying projects, it will help provide a strategic map. * First book that helps businesses capture corporate (human) knowledge and unstructured data, and offer solutions for codifying it for use in IT and management. * Written by Bill Inmon, one of the fathers of the data warehouse and well-known author, and filled with war stories, examples, and cases from current projects. * Very practical, includes a complete metadata acquisition methodology and project plan to guide readers every step of the way. * Includes sample unstructured metadata for use in self-testing and developing skills.
ISBN: 9780123737267Publication Date: 2007-09-27
Role Engineering for Enterprise Security Management by
This authoritative resource shows IT managers, network engineers, and IT security specialists how to define and deploy roles for securing enterprise systems. Written by leading authorities in the field, the book explains how to identify risks, determine project costs, plan and staff a role engineering effort.
ISBN: 9781596932197Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Successful Business Intelligence by
Praise for Successful Business Intelligence "If you want to be an analytical competitor, you've got to go well beyond business intelligence technology. Cindi Howson has wrapped up the needed advice on technology, organization, strategy, and even culture in a neat package. It's required reading for quantitatively oriented strategists and the technologists who support them." --Thomas H. Davenport, President's Distinguished Professor, Babson College and co-author, Competing on Analytics "When used strategically, business intelligence can help companies transform their organization to be more agile, more competitive, and more profitable. Successful Business Intelligence offers valuable guidance for companies looking to embark upon their first BI project as well as those hoping to maximize their current deployments." --John Schwarz, CEO, Business Objects "A thoughtful, clearly written, and carefully researched examination of all facets of business intelligence that your organization needs to know torun its business more intelligently and exploit information to its fullest extent." --Wayne Eckerson, Director, TDWI Research "Using real-world examples, Cindi Howson shows you how to use business intelligence to improve the performance, and the quality, of your company." --Bill Baker, Distinguished Engineer & GM, Business Intelligence Applications, Microsoft Corporation "This book outlines the key steps to make BI an integral part of your company's culture and demonstrates how your company can use BI as a competitive differentiator." --Robert VanHees, CFO, Corporate Express "Given the trend to expand the business analytics user base, organizations are faced with a number of challenges that affect the success rate of these projects. This insightful book provides practical advice on improving that success rate." --Dan Vesset, Vice President, Business Analytics Solution Research, IDC "
ISBN: 9780071596145Publication Date: 2008-01-01
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Management Information Systems by ISBN: 0631224882Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Handbook of Information Technology in Organizations and Electronic Markets by
The rapid growth in the adoption and diffusion of information technologies has important implications for practitioners, academics and policy-makers. The widespread use of information technologies is challenging traditional business models and reshaping socio-economic paradigms, as well as promoting new social relations, jobs and working structures.By synthesizing prior research and providing a strong foundation for future research, the aim of this book is to contribute to our practical and conceptual understanding of the technological, behavioral, organizational, social and economic issues and their inter-relationship in organizations and electronic markets.The book covers five broad aspects: technological innovations and trends; organizational change and knowledge management; strategic transformation; and social and economic transformation. Contributions include works by scholars from recognized international communities of academics, practitioners and policy-makers.
ISBN: 9789812707628Publication Date: 2007-02-27
