Search Tips
Quick Steps to Locate Journal Articles on a subject
- Use a database (electronic index)
- Start with a broad subject
- Use Boolean Operators (And, Or , Not) to narrow the search
- If you find the perfect article, locate the subject headings/descriptors then search by them, or use the find more like this feature
- Remember to refine by dates and/or peer review
Databases
Search the ebsco databases individually or after launching an individual database, use the Choose Databases by Subject link at the top of the screen to search multiple databases at once. Psychology/Sociology is one of the subject areas.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. - Psychology + Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from 1995 for journals in psychology and related fields, including peer-reviewed titles. Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. The majority of titles are available in native (searchable) PDF. - Psychology Journals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.6 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
