Counseling 511: Databases

A full service resource for people needing health related research. It provides an integrated collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Records are available in a combination of indexing, abstracts or full text formats. Topics included in the collection include information about alcoholism, AIDS, fitness, psychology, cancer, pediatrics, and much, much more

Largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.6 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.

Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journal of Family Studies, Journal of Marriage & Family, Family Relations, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1979.

Contains full text articles from 1995 for journals in psychology and related fields, including peer-reviewed titles. Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. The majority of titles are available in native (searchable) PDF.

PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database which features journal articles, but includes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Subjects covered include: area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & cultural studies, general science, geography, geology, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, theology, women's studies and other fields.

SAGE Publications include over 447 subscribed journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

A multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities , Readers' Guide , Social Sciences, and Wilson Business; plus five additional periodical databases: Applied Science & Technology , Art , Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.

Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska provides MMY users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Covered from 1938 to present. Tests in Print. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).

DSM-5 Library includes: DSM-5 (The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations.), DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis (helps clinicians and students learning the process of psychiatric diagnosis improve their skill in formulating a comprehensive differential diagnosis by providing a variety of approaches.), DSM-5 Clinical Cases (These cases exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the DSM-5® and Spanish edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5.

The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. DSM-5® is used by health professionals, social workers,and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders, and is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.

The PubMed database contains more than 33 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.

PsycCRITIQUES®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of full-text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. It also publishes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books. PsycCRITIQUES includes approximately 40,000 reviews dating back to 1956 and is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms

Collections include the complete back runs journals in fifteen disciplines, with many core research journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology. Includes titles in the fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Unlimited users.

This database provides many full-text, scholarly journal articles focusing on nursing and allied health disciplines.

This database provides many full-text, scholarly journal articles focusing on nursing and allied health disciplines.