LibGuides: College Reading and Writing: Resources for Technical Writing

Government Resources

NASA Technical Reports Server

https://ntrs.nasa.gov/

provides access to NASA metadata records, full-text online documents, images and videos

National Technical Reports Library

https://ntrl.ntis.gov/NTRL/

free access to the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports. Search by title, subject, date.

National Center for Education Statistics

nces.ed.gov

reports data on U.S. education from early childhood to adult

U.S Government Statistics

https://www.census.gov/quickfacts/table/PST045215/00 (if unavailable, try data.census.gov)

World Statistics

https://www.cia.gov/the-world-factbook

Research Topics

https://www.pewresearch.org/topics-categorized/

Technical Writing Databases

Academic (Gale OneFile)
Academic OneFile offers
more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals, 17,000 scholarly journals and authoritative sources and more than 8,000 in full text.
full text of The Economist ranging from 1988 to the present, with no embargo.

open URL compliance for access to e-journal and subscription materials, allowing users to save and share URLs.
full text of The New York Times from 1985 to present, updated daily.
major reference sets including Gale Encyclopedia of Science and Encyclopedia of World Biography.
full-text articles from periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLA, PsycINFO, ERIC, EconLit, RILM, and others.
thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN.
Elsevier abstracts from 1996 to present.
full text of The Times and Financial Times.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database which features journal articles, but includes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Subjects covered include: area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & cultural studies, general science, geography, geology, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, theology, women's studies and other fields.
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)
Powered by InfoTrac, the Communications & Mass Media Collection brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
ScienceDirect
Citations and journal articles in the science, medical and technology fields. Also includes citations and articles for business, arts and humanities, psychology and social sciences.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated monthly. 1995 to present