Worldcat Discovery
Print Titles
Assessment of Young Children by
A Collaborative Approach. Assessment of Young Children explores both standardized and authentic assessment, work sampling systems, and observation skills. Readers will walk away with strategies for communicating information about children and portfolio assessment, and how the use of formal and informal methods of observation, documentation, and assessment are connected to teacher and student inquiry.
ISBN: 9780415888110Publication Date: 2012-04-26
Kinderculture by
America is a corporatized society defined by a culture of consumerism, and the youth market is one of the groups that corporations target most. By marketing directly to children, through television, movies, radio, video games, toys, books, and fast food, advertisers have produced a "kinderculture.” In this eye-opening book, editor Shirley R. Steinberg reveals the profound impact that our purchasing-obsessed culture has on our children and argues that the experience of childhood has been reshaped into something that is prefabricated. Analyzing the pervasive influence of these corporate productions, top experts in the fields of education, sociology, communications, and cultural studies contribute incisive essays that students, parents, educators, and general readers will find insightful and entertaining. Including seven new chapters, this third edition is thoroughly updated with examinations of the icons that shape the values and consciousness of today’s children, includingTwilight, True Blood, and vampires, hip hop,Hannah Montana, Disney, and others.
ISBN: 9780813344898Publication Date: 2011-01-11
Literacy in the Early Grades by Call Number: LB1576 .T6575 2015ISBN: 9780133564501Publication Date: 2014-03-07
Working with Young Children by Call Number: HQ778.63 .H47 2016ISBN: 9781631260247Publication Date: 2015-04-16
Gale eBooks
eBooks
Advancing Equity and Embracing Diversity in Early Childhood Education by ISBN: 9781938113796Publication Date: 2021-07-06
Advancing Knowledge and Building Capacity for Early Childhood Research by ISBN: 9780935302837Publication Date: 2020-04-15
Learner-Centred Education in International Perspective by
Is learner-centred education appropriate for all societies and classrooms? Learner-centred education (LCE) is a travelling policy, widely promoted by international agencies and national governments. Arguments in favour of this pedagogical tradition refer to theories and evidence from cognitive psychology, claiming that all learners can benefit equally from its judicious use. Beyond the benefits to the individual however, lie a set of assumptions about learner-centred education as a foundation for the building of democratic citizens and societies, suitable for economies of the future. These promises have been questioned by critics who doubt that it is appropriate in all cultural and resource contexts, and there is considerable evidence in the global South of perennial problems of implementation. In the light of these debates, is LCE still a good development bet ? This book provides an authoritative and balanced investigation of these issues, exploring the contextual factors from global movements to local resourcing realities which have fuelled it as a discourse and affected its practice. In the light of the theoretical underpinnings and research evidence, the book addresses pressing questions: to what extent is learner-centred education a sound choice for policy and practice in developing countries? And if it is a sound choice, under which conditions is it a viable one? The book is divided into three key parts: - Learner-centred Education as a Global Phenomenon - Learner-centred Education in Lower and Middle-income Countries - Lessons and Resolutions " "This book" "provides a much-needed fresh analysis of the concept and practice of LCE. It will be valuable reading for academics and post-graduates with a focus on comparative and international education, along with policy-makers in developing countries and development agencies."
ISBN: 9781136729133Publication Date: 2013-03-12
Misguided Education Reform by
Misguided Education Reform: Debating the Impact on Students argues for reforms that will help, not hurt, America's public school students. Early childhood education, testing, reading, special education, discipline, loss of the arts, and school facilities, are all areas experiencing reform in the wrong direction.
ISBN: 9781475803587Publication Date: 2013
Multi-Tiered Systems of Support for Young Children by ISBN: 9781681253060Publication Date: 2019-01-14
The starting line : Latina/o children, Texas schools, and national debates on early education by ISBN: 9781477322390Publication Date: 2020
Reference books that check out!
Art and Craft Activities for Children 3 to 6 by
A comprehensive collection of the best art and craft activities for young children. The result of a nationwide competition, these art and craft activities are the best of the best. Just the thing to add pizzazz to your day! Activities include: Bath Sponge Painting Blast-off Helmets Bumby Snake Candy Jewelry Caterpillar Cookies Cereal Box Tote Bag Darling Daffodils Dinosaur Sock Puppets Dream Catcher Ecology Art Creations
ISBN: 9780876592090Publication Date: 2000-05-01
Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards; Guidelines for Early Care and Education Programs by ISBN: 9781610022989Publication Date: 2019-02-15
Early Childhood Education by
Early childhood education has reached a level of unprecedented national and international focus. Parents, policy makers, and politicians have opinions as well as new questions about what, how, when, and where young children should learn. Teachers and program administrators now find curriculum discussions linked to dramatic new understandings about children's early learning and brain development. Early childhood education is also a major topic of concern internationally, as social policy analysts point to its role in a nation's future economic outlook. As a groundbreaking contribution to its field, this four-volume handbook discusses key historical and contemporary issues, research, theoretical perspectives, national policies, and practices.
ISBN: 9780313331008Publication Date: 2007-01-01
The Educator's Desk Reference by
This master guide facilitates educational research using both traditional and electronic sources, providing information on how to utilize the Internet and offering statistical tools, research designs, measurement procedures, and software specifically tailored for behavioral research. As with the first edition, this book is designed for the professional as a ready-reference handbook both to refresh the reader's technical memory and to provide new developments in research methodology and sources of information. Distinguishing this second edition is a section on the Internet and chapters on measurements and techniques for exploratory data analysis.
ISBN: 1573563595Publication Date: 2002-12-30
The Wiley Handbook of Early Childhood Care and Education by ISBN: 9781119148074Publication Date: 2019-01-22
Book Reviews
- Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development. Useful for educators, researchers, students, publishers, librarians, and patrons, Book Review Digest Plus provides access to concise, critical evaluations for books with subject coverage in areas such as art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences and many more
This link opens in a new window
- Books in Print This link opens in a new window Books in Print is a tool for finding books and multimedia published in any format, including e-books. It also contains book reviews, availability information, and synopses. The new interface allows users to create custom lists of titles. unlimited users. Content updated irregularly
- This link opens in a new window
