Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Methods for Historians

Best practices and tips for how to and where to get the information they need.

Newspapers

Finding U.S. newspapers at Texas A&M University - Texarkana

The library carries a number of print newspapers that can be found on the newspaper carousel which is located in the soft seating area near the service desk.  Below you will find a list of the print newspapers that we carry along with the length of time that issues are kept. Microfiche of some newspapers dating back further are available at both our campus as well as the Texarkana College campus. Items from Texarkana College can be brought to our campus via courier. Speak to the service desk clerk for help in arranging transport of any items you are requiring for your research.

3 MONTHS

Arkansas Democrat

Austin American Statesman

Barron's

Dallas Morning News

The New York Times

The Times

Wall Street Journal

Washington Post

6 MONTHS

Texarkana Gazette *the online version goes back to 1997 & Microfiche at Texarkana College dates back to the early 1900s with some gaps

USA Today

Best Electronic Databases For Newspapers

  • Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries

Includes Early American newspapers, Series 1 – 5 (1690 – 1922) and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808 - 1980).

Part of the Archive of Americana. Unlimited simultaneous users allowed. Content is updated monthly

Featuring newspapers, government documents and rare printed materials, this collection from the Readex Archive of Americana covers

politics, society and daily life during the American Civil War period: 1840-1877.

Early American Newspapers, Series II 

Series 2 offers more than 290 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from every region of the United States. Based
primarily on the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), which houses a vast collection of American newspapers
through 1876, Series 2 also includes titles from the acclaimed newspaper collection of the Wisconsin Historical Society and more
than 90 other institutions.

Series 3 provides more than 160 important 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from every region of the United States. Based
primarily on the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), which houses a vast collection of American newspapers
through 1876, Series 3 also includes titles from the acclaimed newspaper collection of the Wisconsin Historical Society and more
than 90 other institutions.

Series 4 delivers more than 150 valuable 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from every region of the United States. From
the acclaimed newspaper collections of the American Antiquarian Society, the Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society
and more than 90 other institutions, Series 4 offers newspapers of unique historical significance, regional weeklies and big-city
dailies.

Series 5 delivers more than 150 valuable 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from every region of the United States. From
the acclaimed newspaper collections of the American Antiquarian Society, the Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society
and more than 90 other institutions, Series 5 offers newspapers of unique historical significance, regional weeklies and big-city
dailies.

Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Gale World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean
Covering Latin America culture and society from the fifteenth century to the present day, the collection consists of a Portal and
Archive component. Launching with 293 portals based on Person, Topic, Event, Named Work, and Country, users can delve into
over 1.3 million pages of archival material (Archive) and hundreds of periodicals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and data feeds
(Portal). The Portal and Archive components work together in perfect complement, but each can be purchased or subscribed to
individually depending on the needs of the library. The multidisciplinary range of Gale World Scholar: Latin America and the
Caribbean ensures it meets the needs of researchers, postgraduates, and undergraduates with interests in regional studies, history,
political science, anthropology, sociology, economics, and international relations.
 

Archive of many of the Spanish language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the early 20th century, documenting the role of Mexican

immigrants and providing an outlet for Hispanic voices. The newspapers date from the 1800’s to the 1950’s, representing locations such

as Indiana and Missouri, although most locations focus on New Mexico and Texas cities and towns. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Gale LegalTrac, legal newspapers, Bar Association, Law School
Ideal for students, law school faculty, and legal researchers, LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal
newspapers, specialty publications,  Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.
The American Association of Law Libraries not only endorses LegalTrac, its special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances
the content of this resource. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations,  legal practice and taxation,
as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a
mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
 
 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Gale Infotrac Newsstand, News, Newspapers
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section,
or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as
leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Exclusive features,
including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
 
 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Newspaper Source
Provides complete full text for 20 national and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today,
The Washington Post, The Times(London), and Toronto Star. Provides selected articles from regional newspapers and television and
radio news transcripts from major networks.
 
 
 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Gale Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive,
In its entirety, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced
from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many
different countries. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never-before-available
research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.

Additionally, many of research tools – research guides, subject outlines, and scholarly essays on the subject – highlight the value of
the content and assist students with access to the primary materials; introductory essays on sources will describe archival collections
history and explain their research value. A subject guide search allows researchers to submit searches against the archive's subject
vocabulary.
 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: The New York Times Academic NYtimes.com NY Times Newspaper
The New York Times via their website nytimes.com which includes multimedia features as well as full text articles.
 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Gale The Times Digital Archive, 1785-onward newspaper
 
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for
eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012. This historical newspaper
archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper 
in the world online in its original published context.
 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Gale 19th Century U.S. Newspapers,
Gale's 19th Century U.S. Newspapers -- a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database -- provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture,
and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. The collection features publications
of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the
century's end. Every aspect of society and every region of the nation is found in the archive -- rural and urban, large cities and small towns, coast
to coast, etc. Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups,
the Confederacy, and other groups and interests. Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings
of many artists.

Newspapers included are:
New York Herald (NY)
Lynchburg Virginian (VA)
Pacific Commercial Advertiser (HI)
Rocky Mountain News (CO)
Southern Illustrated News (VA)
Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago)
Milwaukee Sentinel (WI)
The Bee (OH)
The Mountaineer (SC)
 
 
For more newspapers that you may not find located within our databases, you may also check the list of papers available for
free on the Internet, prepared by Carol Singer at Bowling Green State University:    
 

Documentary, Film, Interviews, etc.

 

Television, radio and documentary film

Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: VAST: Academic Video Online Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online
On a single cross-searchable platform, users have a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles that your institution subscribes to or owns, including VAST: Academic Video Online (a large, multidisciplinary video product with nearly 17,000 videos and continuing to grow), along with individual discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more.
 
 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Films On Demand Master Academic Collection
Outstanding content from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ABC News, NBC News, PBS, BBC, National Geographic, The News Hour with Jim Lehrer, Bill Moyers, Shopware, The Open University, A&E, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Fred Friendly Seminars, Cambridge Educational, and many more. Programs from more than 700 producers are included in these comprehensive subscriptions—more than you'll find anywhere else.
 

Topics and themes

Phantom Killer of Texarkana

Black History Month compiled by NewsBank

Religion Religion and Philosophy by Gale OneFile

History of Women's and Gender Studies

Diversity *Choose "Subject Guide Search" and enter History. This will pop up a multitude of topics relating to the history of different subsets of diversity issues.

Texas History 

A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and other topics. Provided by the Texas State Historical Association in collaboration with the University of Texas at Austin.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.
Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston.
Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage.