Print Titles
Art Collector's Management by
With the rapid and unprecedented global expansion of the art market, new collectors are emerging every day. When buying art, whether for pure enjoyment, for investment or some other motive, few art collectors consider the practical and financial implications of owning and maintaining art, and many do not have a plan for how they might eventually dispose of it. This book, probing a number of resources and incorporating advice from top experts in the field, offers guidance on collection management and care, and serves as an important reference guide for collectors and those charged with managing collections.
Call Number: Main Collection N8600 .R69 2014ISBN: 9781848220997Publication Date: 2014-03-01
Mirror of the World by
"Exuberant, astute, and splendidly illustrated history of world art . . . draws fascinating parallels between artistic developments in Western and non-Western art."--Publishers Weekly In this beautifully written story of art, Julian Bell tells a vivid and compelling history of human artistic achievements, from prehistoric stone carvings to the latest video installations. Bell, himself a painter, uses a variety of objects to reveal how art is a product of our shared experience and how, like a mirror, it can reflect the human condition. With hundreds of illustrations and a uniquely global perspective, Bell juxtaposes examples that challenge and enlighten the reader: dancing bronze figures from southern India, Romanesque sculptures, Baroque ceilings, and jewel-like Persian manuscripts are discussed side by side. With an insider's knowledge and an unerring touch, Bell weaves these diverse strands into an invaluable introduction to the wider history of world art.
Call Number: N5300 .B429 2007ISBN: 9780500238370Publication Date: 2007-10-17
Book Reviews
- Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development. Useful for educators, researchers, students, publishers, librarians, and patrons, Book Review Digest Plus provides access to concise, critical evaluations for books with subject coverage in areas such as art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences and many more
This link opens in a new window
- Books in Print This link opens in a new window Books in Print is a tool for finding books and multimedia published in any format, including e-books. It also contains book reviews, availability information, and synopses. The new interface allows users to create custom lists of titles. unlimited users. Content updated irregularly
- This link opens in a new window
eBooks
- Art Collector's Management by ISBN: 9781848220997Publication Date: 2014-03-01With the rapid and unprecedented global expansion of the art market, new collectors are emerging every day. When buying art, whether for pure enjoyment, for investment or some other motive, few art collectors consider the practical and financial implications of owning and maintaining art, and many do not have a plan for how they might eventually dispose of it. This book, probing a number of resources and incorporating advice from top experts in the field, offers guidance on collection management and care, and serves as an important reference guide for collectors and those charged with managing collections.
The Design Way by
Humans did not discover fire--they designed it. Design is not defined by software programs, blueprints, or font choice. When we create new things--technologies, organizations, processes, systems, environments, ways of thinking--we engage in design. With this expansive view of design as their premise, in "The Design Way, " Harold Nelson and Erik Stolterman make the case for design as its own culture of inquiry and action. They offer not a recipe for design practice or theorizing but a formulation of design culture's fundamental core of ideas. These ideas--which form "the design way"--are applicable to an infinite variety of design domains, from such traditional fields as architecture and graphic design to such nontraditional design areas as organizational, educational, interaction, and health care design. Nelson and Stolterman present design culture in terms of foundations (first principles), fundamentals (core concepts), and metaphysics, and then discuss these issues from both learner's and practitioner's perspectives. The text of this second edition is accompanied by new detailed images, "schemas" that visualize, conceptualize, and structure the authors' understanding of design inquiry. This text itself has been revised and expanded throughout, in part in response to reader feedback.
ISBN: 0262305658Publication Date: 2012-01-01
International Dialogues about Visual Culture, Education and Art by ISBN: 9781435653276Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Modernism by
The modernist movement radically transformed the late nineteenth- and early twentieth-century literary establishment, and its effects are still felt today. Modernism introduces and analyzes what amounted to nothing less than a literary and cultural revolution. In this fully updated and revised second edition, charting the movement in its global and local contexts, Peter Childs: details the origins of the modernist movement and the influence of thinkers such as Darwin, Marx, Freud, Nietzsche, Saussure and Einstein explores the radical changes which occurred in the literature, drama, art and film of the period traces 'modernism at work' in Anglophone literatures, especially in writings by a range of key figures including James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Samuel Beckett, Nella Larsen, Gertrude Stein, Katherine Mansfield, T. S. Eliot, and many others reflects upon the shift from modernism to postmodernism. At once accessible and critically informed, Modernism guides readers from first steps in the field to an advanced understanding of one of the most important cultural movements of the last centuries.
ISBN: 9780203933787Publication Date: 2008-01-11
Panaesthetics by
While comparative literature is a well-recognized field of study, the notion of comparative arts remains unfamiliar to many. In this fascinating book, Daniel Albright addresses the fundamental question of comparative arts: Are there many different arts, or is there one art which takes different forms? He considers various artistic media, especially literature, music, and painting, to discover which aspects of each medium are unique and which can be otranslatedo from one to another. Can a poem turn into a symphony, or a symphony into a painting? a Albright explores how different media interact, as in a drama, when speech, stage decor, and music are co-present, or in a musical composition that employs the collage method of the visual arts. Tracing arguments and questions about the relations among the arts from AristotleAEsa"Poetics" to the present day, he illuminates the understudied discipline of comparative arts and urges new attention to its riches."
ISBN: 9780300187649Publication Date: 2014-03-25
Renaissance Theory by
Renaissance Theory presents an animated conversation among art historians about the optimal ways of conceptualizing Renaissance art, and the links between Renaissance art and contemporary art and theory. This is the first discussion of its kind, involving not only questions within Renaissance scholarship, but issues of concern to art historians and critics in all fields. Organized as a virtual roundtable discussion, the contributors discuss rifts and disagreements about how to understand the Renaissance and debate the principal texts and authors of the lastnbsp;thirty years who have sought to reconceptualize the period. They then turn to the issue of the relation between modern art and the Renaissance: Why do modern art historians and critics so seldom refer to the Renaissance? Is the Renaissance our indispensable heritage, or are we cut off from it by the revolution of modernism? The volume includes an introduction by Rebecca Zorach and two final, synoptic essays, as well as contributions from some of the most prominent thinkers on Renaissance art including Stephen Campbell, Michael Cole, Frederika Jakobs, Claire Farago, and Matt Kavaler.
ISBN: 9780203929865Publication Date: 2008-03-01
- eBook Academic Subscription Collection - North America This link opens in a new window There are more than 135,000 eBooks in this package, including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Additional academic publishers include Elsevier Ltd.; Ashgate Publishing Ltd; Taylor & Francis Ltd; Sage Publications, Ltd. and John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
- This link opens in a new window