Foundation Directory Online

The Foundation Center is a nonprofit organization that gathers and disseminates information on foundations and corporate funding with a network of regional and local resource collections.

Are you a nonprofit or individual seeking funding?
Does your group want to become a nonprofit? 
Are you a new board member working with a nonprofit?

Texas A&M University-Texarkana’s John F. Moss Library is a member of the Foundation Center’s Funding Information Network and maintains resources on foundation, corporate and government funding, nonprofit fundraising, grants, proposal writing and nonprofit management.

The John F. Moss Library’s Foundation Center Funding Information Network collection is Library Use Only and is open to the public during regular library hours.

Time is limited to 2-hour sessions.  If you do not need training, just inquire at the 3rd floor service desk and you will be logged into a computer. If there is no one waiting for access, you will be allowed to continue using  the resource.
 

What can I do at a Funding Information Network Location?

• Conduct research on potential funders for my nonprofit work or artistic project 
• Attend workshops to learn how to approach funders and write grant proposals 
• Network with my peers in the local social sector 
• Find educational scholarships, fellowships, and loans 
• See on maps who’s getting and giving grants in my own community 
• Stay up-to-date on funding trends 
• Browse the Knowledge Base to find answers to most of your questions.
• You can email any unanswered question by using our online form

These tools and resources can help you and your nonprofit:

• Learn how to set up a nonprofit 
•  Research potential funders 
• Organize fundraisers 
• Keep learning with classes and webinars 
• Locate appropriate funding sources 
• Prepare grant proposals 
•  Build your board 
• Join a worldwide network of nonprofits

What We Can Do:

• Answer most questions about philanthropy, nonprofit management and fundraising
• Present a variety of resources that will answer your question
• Help you search Foundation Center databases and resources
• Assist with email documents to yourself
• Assist with saving selected information to a USB drive

What We Cannot Do:

• This is an information resource center.  
• It does not give grants, write grants, or review your grant proposal
• It does not perform grant research
• It does not provide guidance to specific funders nor approach them on your behalf. 
• It does not provide legal or tax advice

How do I get started?

Sign up for a training session so you can start using the FDO!

• Go to our Appointments Page and select FDO Center Training
• Select a time preference
• You will receive confirmation of the request.
• A confirmation from the trainer will be sent for that time. You will be informed if the time is available. If it is not, you will be asked to select another time. 

Foundation Directory Online Professional

A great place to start! This comprehensive database provides quick access to information on grants and grantmakers, allowing a grantseeker to do customized searches to meet specific needs. Available in the library only. 

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online

This database provides a wide range of funding support and information for individuals seeking scholarships, student loans, fellowships, internships, arts and cultural projects, research, and general welfare. Available in the library only. 

Foundation Maps

This interactive mapping tool brings philanthropic data to life so you can see who is funding what and where. Don’t miss the rich and valuable information in this resource’s mapping, charting, and analytic capabilities. Available in the library only. 

Grant Space/Candid Learning

The Foundation Center’s website, Grant Space offers information and resources specifically designed to meet the needs of nonprofits worldwide in securing funding and operating effective organizations. Available free on any computer, anywhere.