Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The periodic table and a missed Nobel Prize by Inside this book:* Learn the secrets that the greatest leaders of history used to transform fear and procrastination into the power to:* take action*create wealth*become experts and leaders in their chosen fields. *Discover an easy assessment that will allow you to know exactly where you are, and and how to get yourself to where you want to be.* Discover a simple process to find both your passion and purpose.* Learn the very technique that allowed Thomas Edison to come up with more than 100 patentable ideas in his lifetime, and how you too can use it to come up with your own multi-million dollar ideas. *and much more, including a surprise bonus!
Publication Date: 2011-02-28
The Physical Basis of Chemistry by If the text you're using for general chemistry seems to lack sufficient mathematics and physics in its presentation of classical mechanics, molecular structure, and statistics, this complementary science series title may be just what you're looking for. Written for the advanced lower-division undergraduate chemistry course, The Physical Basis of Chemistry, Second Edition, offers students an opportunity to understand and enrich the understanding of physical chemistry with some quantum mechanics, the Boltzmann distribution, and spectroscopy. Posed and answered are questions concerning everyday phenomena. Unlike other texts on this subject, however, Dr. Warren deals directly with the substance of the questions, avoiding the use of predigested material more appropriate for memorization exercises than for actual concrete learning. The only prerequisite is first-semester calculus or familiarity with one-variable derivatives. In this new edition, the entire text has been rewritten and keyed with an accompanying website, which contains instructive QuickTime movies on topics presented in the text to enhance student learning and participation.
Publication Date: 2000-01-21
The Genie in the Bottle by Think of the word "chemistry." What comes to mind? "Difficult?" "Boring?" "Pollution?" The adjectives "Interesting," "Exciting," "Amazing" almost never roll of the tongue. Until, that is, one picks up The Genie in the Bottle. In 67 delightful essays, popular science writer Joe Schwarcz reminds us that with every breath and feeling we are experiencing chemistry. A sequel to Schwarcz’s best-selling Radar, Hula Hoops, and Playful Pigs, this collection of essays blends quirky anecdotes about everyday chemistry with engaging tales from the history of science. Inside, readers will . . . Get a different twist on licorice and travel to the dark side of the sun. Control stinky feet and bend spoons and minds. Learn about the latest on chocolate research, flax, ginkgo biloba, magnesium, and blueberries. Read about the ups of helium and the downs of drain cleaners. Find out why bug juice is used to color ice cream, how spies used secret inks and how acetone changed the course of history. "Dr. Joe" also solves the mystery of the exploding shrimp and, finally, he lets us in on the secret of the genie in the bottle. Infused with the author’s humor, show-biz savvy, and magic, The Genie in the Bottle celebrates some of the least visited corners of the science universe.
Publication Date: 2001-06-25
Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowThis invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development. Useful for educators, researchers, students, publishers, librarians, and patrons, Book Review Digest Plus provides access to concise, critical evaluations for books with subject coverage in areas such as art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences and many more
Books in Print This link opens in a new windowBooks in Print is a tool for finding books and multimedia published in any format, including e-books. It also contains book reviews, availability information, and synopses. The new interface allows users to create custom lists of titles. unlimited users. Content updated irregularly
Analytical Chemistry by A comprehensive study of analytical chemistry providing the basics of analytical chemistry and introductions to the laboratory Covers the basics of a chemistry lab including lab safety, glassware, and common instrumentation Covers fundamentals of analytical techniques such as wet chemistry, instrumental analyses, spectroscopy, chromatography, FTIR, NMR, XRF, XRD, HPLC, GC-MS, Capillary Electrophoresis, and proteomics Includes ChemTech an interactive program that contains lesson exercises, useful calculators and an interactive periodic table Details Laboratory Information Management System a program used to log in samples, input data, search samples, approve samples, and print reports and certificates of analysis
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Basic Training in Chemistry by Basic Training in Chemistry is unique in that it gathers into one source the essential information that is usually widely dispersed. This book can be used as a quick reference guide to the different disciplines of Chemistry: the areas covered are General, Inorganic, Organic, and Instrumental Analysis. Although comprehensive in nature, Basic Training in Chemistry is not meant to replace any standard textbook but rather to be a supplement or additional source of information, or even a comprehensive review guide. Basic Training in Chemistry is a useful addition to any academic or commercial laboratory setting where access to a wide variety of information is needed. The book can be an exceptional source of information for the undergraduate or graduate student as well as for the experienced chemist. Anyone needing a single source of information covering several different disciplines will find this book to be an excellent addition to their usual references.
Publication Date: 2007-05-08
The Chemistry and Biology of Nitroxyl (HNO) by The Chemistry and Biology of Nitroxyl (HNO) provides first-of-its-kind coverage of the intriguing biologically active molecule called nitroxyl, or azanone per IUPAC nomenclature, which has been traditionally elusive due to its intrinsically high reactivity. This useful resource provides the scientific basis to understand the chemistry, biology, and technical aspects needed to deal with HNO. Building on two decades of nitric oxide and nitroxyl research, the editors and authors have created an indispensable guide for investigators across a wide variety of areas of chemistry (inorganic, organic, organometallic, biochemistry, physical, and analytical); biology (molecular, cellular, physiological, and enzymology); pharmacy; and medicine. This book begins by exploring the unique molecule's structure and reactivity, including important reactions with small molecules, thiols, porphyrins, and key proteins, before discussing chemical and biological sources of nitroxyl. Advanced chapters discuss methods for both trapping and detecting nitroxyl by spectroscopy, electrochemistry, and fluorescent inorganic cellular probing. Expanding on the compound's foundational chemistry, this book then explores its molecular physiology to offer insight into its biological implications, pharmacological effects, and practical issues. Presents the first book on HNO (nitroxyl or azanone), an increasingly important molecule in biochemistry and pharmaceutical research Provides a valuable coverage of HNO's chemical structure and significant reactions, including practical guidance on working with this highly reactive molecule Contains high quality content from recognized experts in both industry and academia
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
The Last Sorcerers by They started with four: earth, air, fire, and water. From these basics, they sought to understand the essential ingredients of the world. Those who could see further, those who understood that the four were just the beginning, were the last sorcerers - and the world's first chemists. What we now call chemistry began in the fiery cauldrons of mystics and sorcerers seeking not to make a better world through science, but rather to make themselves richer through magic formulas and con games. But among these early magicians, frauds, and con artists were a few far-seeing "alchemists" who, through rigorous experimentation, transformed mysticism into science. By the 18th century the building blocks of nature, the elements of which all matter is composed, were on the verge of being discovery. Initially, it was not easy to determine whether a substance really was an element. Was water just water, plain and simple? Or could it be the sum of other (unknown and maybe unknowable) parts? And if water was made up of other substances, how could it be broken down into discreet, fundamental, and measurable components? Scientific historians generally credit the great 18th century French chemist Antoine Lavoisier with addressing these fundamental questions and ultimately modernizing the field of chemistry. Through his meticulous and precise work this chaotic new field of scientific inquiry was given order. Exacting by nature, Lavoisier painstakingly set about performing experiments that would provide lasting and verifiable proofs of various chemical theories. Unfortunately, the outspoken Lavoisier eventually lost his head in the Terror, but others would follow his lead, carefully examining, measuring, and recording their findings. As the field slowly progressed, another pioneer was to emerged almost 100 years later. Dimitri Mendeleev, an eccentric genius who cut his flowing hair and beard but once a year, sought to answer the most pressing questions that remained to chemists: Why did some elements have properties that resembled those of others? Were there certain natural groups of elements? And, if so, how many, and what elements fit into them? It was Mendeleev who finally addressed all these issues when he constructed the first Periodic Table in the late 1800s. But between and after Lavoisier and Mendeleev were a host of other colorful, brilliant scientists who made their mark on the field of chemistry. Depicting the lively careers of these scientists and their contributions while carefully deconstructing the history and the science, author Richard Morris skillfully brings it all to life. Hailed by Kirkus Reviews as a "clear and lively writer with a penchant for down-to-earth examples" Morris's gift for explanation - and pure entertainment - is abundantly obvious. Taking a cue from the great chemists themselves, Morris has brewed up a potent combination of the alluringly obscure and the historically momentous, spiked with just the right dose of quirky and ribald detail to deliver a magical brew of history, science, and personalities.
Publication Date: 2003-12-31
Science Direct eBooks This link opens in a new windowAccess to selected titles purchased for the University's academic collection. Subject areas covered: Physical Science & Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Science & Humanities.
Reference books that check out!
Write Like a Chemist by Write Like a Chemist is a unique guide to chemistry-specific writing. Written with National Science Foundation support and extensively piloted in chemistry courses nationwide, it offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal. Chemistry students, post-docs, faculty, and other professionals interested in perfecting their disciplinary writing will find it an indispensable reference. Users of the book will learn to write through a host of exercises, ranging in difficulty from correcting single words and sentences to writing professional-quality papers, abstracts, posters, and proposals. The book's read-analyze-write approach teaches students to analyze what they read and then write, paying attention to audience, organization, writing conventions, grammar, and science content, thereby turning the complex process of writing into graduated, achievable tasks. Concise writing and organizational skills are stressed throughout, and "move structures" teach students conventional ways to present their stories of scientific discovery. This resource includes over 350 excerpts from ACS journal articles, ACS conference abstracts, and successful NSF CAREER proposals, excerpts that will serve as useful models of chemistry writing for years to come. Other special features: Usable in chemistry lab, lecture, and writing-dedicated courses Useful as a writing resource for practicing chemists Augmented by Language Tips that address troublesome areas of language and grammer in a self-study format Accompanied by a Web site: http: //www.oup.com/us/writelikeachemist Supplemented with an answer key for faculty adopting the book
Publication Date: 2008-08-18
The Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry by In this reference more than 3000 entries reflect modern chemical nomenclature and up-to-date information on commonly used chemical terms and the properties of elements.
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis by Winner of an Oustanding Academic Title Award for 2011! Researchers in organic chemistry, chemical engineering, pharmaceutical science, forensics, and environmental science make routine use of chemical analysis, but the information these researchers need is often scattered in different sources and difficult to access. The CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis, Third Edition is a one-stop reference that presents updated data in a handy format specifically designed for use when reaching a decision point in designing an analysis or interpreting results. In response to a decade of reader input, this new edition has been expanded to include even more of the critical information scientists rely on to perform accurate analysis. Enhancements to the Third Edition: Includes data from the CRC Handbook of Fundamental Spectroscopic Correlation Charts into this volume for the first time Presents new information on gas, liquid, and thin layer chromatography; nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometry; infrared spectrophotometry; and mass spectrometry Reviews the detection of outliers in experimental data Provides basic information on thermocouples, chemical indicators, and chromatographic column regeneration Explores the latest stationary phases for chromatographic methods and extractions Examines carcinogens and chemical, electrical, radiation, and laser hazards Includes information on laboratory safety and equipment, from advice on choosing lab gloves and apparel to selecting respirators Unmatched in its coverage of the range of information scientists need in the lab, this resource will be referred to again and again by practitioners who need quick, easy access to the data that forms the basis for experimentation and analysis.
Publication Date: 2010-12-13