Experiential Learning
Hover over the "info" icon to see a description of the book or select the title link to access. One will be asked to login to use an eBook, if accessed remotely or via WiFi networks on campus.
The Embodied Mind by
The Embodied Mind provides a unique, sophisticated treatment of the spontaneous and reflective dimension of human experience. The authors argue that only by having a sense of common ground between mind in Science and mind in experience can our understanding of cognition be more complete. Toward that end, they develop a dialogue between cognitive science and Buddhist meditative psychology and situate it in relation to other traditions such as phenomenology and psychoanalysis.
Call Number: JFM OnlineISBN: 9780262720212Publication Date: 1992-11-13
Encounters with Difference by
Laubscher explores how students use their out-of-class time to enhance their learning about cultural differences while enrolled in a formal academic program abroad. Taxonomic analysis of the interview data using the means/end semantic relationship postulated by James Spradley supports the hypothesis that, when left to their own devices, students abroad naturally employ ethnographic methods to learn about the host culture. This suggests that students abroad will gain more from the out-of-class domain if that domain includes programmed opportunities for participant observation and personal interaction and if the students have the skills and guidance to capitalize upon those opportunities fully. The students' detailed discussions of their activities and experiences provide insights upon which educators can base their development of a programmatic approach to making the noncurricular dimension of education abroad a more integral part of the overall learning process. By combining ethnographic method with the principles of experiential learning, students abroad can reconceptualize the world around them and gain a greater appreciation of the existence of cultural differences in a multicultural world.
Call Number: JFM OnlineISBN: 9780313289774Publication Date: 1994-03-30
Experiential Learning by
This handbook pulls together for the first time both the theory and the practice of experiential learning and all types of learning that employ activity-based experience. Based on sound theoretical underpinning, and making full use of examples and guidance for successful implementation, Experiential Learning enables readers to unlease some of the more potent indgredients of learning through experience.'Everything that can possibly provide, or affect, a learning experience, is discussed: most theories of learning, and every conceivable way to interest learners in an activity...Even very accomplished developers who prepare learning experiences for all types of learners, from grade level classes through executive seminars can undoubtedly find many ideas to expand the design options upon which they can draw.' Leadership and Organisational Development Journal. Previously known as The Power of Experiential Learning.
Call Number: JFM OnlineISBN: 0749448768Publication Date: 2006-05-03
A Handbook of Reflective and Experiential Learning by
This handbook acts as an essential guide to understanding and using reflective and experiential learning - whether it be for personal or professional development, or as a tool for learning. It takes a fresh look at experiential and reflective learning, locating them within an overall theoretical framework for learning and exploring the relationships between different approaches. As well as the theory, the book provides practical ideas for applying the models of learning, with tools, activities and photocopiable resources which can be incorporated directly into classroom practice. This book is essential reading to guide any teacher, lecturer or trainer wanting to improve teaching and learning.
Call Number: JFM Online LB1027.23 .M66 2004ebISBN: 0203416155Publication Date: 2004-04-23
Informal Learning in the Workplace: Unmasking Human Resource Development by
Informal learning has become an extremely important issue as post-industrial workplaces seek to harness its productive potential. Managers and HRD practitioners have attempted to deploy informal learning in the design of corporate cultures, however, most discussions of the subject have tended to be uncritical expositions which do not challenge the underlying economic, philosophical and organisational rationale. Uniquely, this book goes against this tendency. It critically examines definitions of informal learning, and focuses on its application in a variety of workplace contexts. It features: * theories of informal learning * the unmasking of contemporary corporate rhetoric * the implications for accounts of workplace learning of poststructuralist and post-modern perspectives. Incorporating case studies based on interviews with practising managers and HRM practitioners, and a detailed glossary of key concepts and issues, this book will be a valuable reference for students of workplace learning.
Call Number: JFM Online HF5549.5 .T7 G344 2002ebISBN: 9780203272978Publication Date: 2002
Introducing Apel by
The fact that learning accumulates and exists outside an education or training environment cannot be disputed. Yet traditionally, it is only institutional, certificated learning that carries any status. Accreditation of Prior Experiential Learning systems seek to give positive credit for all learning, by placing it within a recognised accreditation framework. In the light of recent legislation, APEL systems offer the key towards more flexible and open delivery systems for futher education. Maggie Challis offers a detailed, practical introduction to the skills and processes of implementing an APEL system, exploring the seven key stages through which learners progress: * initial counselling * recognising and identifying skills * relating these skills to an agreed set of outcomes * gathering evidence of these skills * documentation of the evidence * assessment of the evidence * accreditation Detailed guidance is provided on setting up and monitoring services and tutors and managers alike will find advice on identifying appropriate learning programmes for students; access to higher education; redundancy counselling; and the transfer of professional qualifications gained overseas. Most importantly, Maggie Challis shows the potential for APEL across a wide range of learning contexts, in all areas of education and training.
Call Number: JFM Online LB2367 .G76 C43 2002ebISBN: 9781134872589Publication Date: 1993-07-01
Learning from Experience by
This book is about the development of teachers'professional knowledge.
Call Number: JFM Online LA2383 .I75 B46 1995ebISBN: 9780791423035Publication Date: 1995-02-16
Show Biz Training by
Lenn Millbower is an instructional designer, facilitator and former Disney University and Disney Institute employee, with over twenty years of experience in the training industry. The President of Offbeat Training, he is an in-demand speaker for professional conferences He is also the composer and musical arranger of Game Show Themes for Trainers. He lives in Davenport, Florida
Call Number: JFM Online HF5549.5 T7 M535 2003ebISBN: 0814427278Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Using Simulations to Promote Learning in Higher Education by
"Not only did I learn more substantive law than in any other course I've taken, but I learned why I needed to learn all those things." Alumnus of a legal simulation course Simulations create and use a complete environment within which students can interact to apply theory and practice skills to real-world issues related to their discipline. Simulations constitute a powerful tool for learning. They allow teachers simultaneously to integrate multiple teaching objectives in a single process. They motivate students, provide opportunities for active participation to promote deep learning, develop interactive and communication skills, and link knowledge and theory to application. This book provides an introduction to the use of simulations - from creating simple scenarios that can be completed in a single class period, to extended, complex simulations that may encompass a semester's curriculum. Assuming no prior experience in their use, the authors provide a recipe approach to selecting and designing scenarios for all sizes of class; offer guidance on creating simulated environments to meet learning objectives; and practical advice on managing the process in the classroom through to the crucial processes of debriefing and assessment. The detailed concluding description of how to plan and manage a complex simulation -- complete with its sample scenario and examples of documentation - provides a rich demonstration of the process. This book will appeal to anyone, in virtually any field of study, looking for effective ways to bridge the gap between academic learning and discipline-specific practice.
Call Number: JFM Online LB1029 .S53 H48 2002ebISBN: 9781579220525Publication Date: 2002-03-25
Web-Based Education by
During the past two decades, telecommunication and Web-enabled technologies have combined to create a new field of knowledge known as "Web-Based Learning and Teaching Technologies." The main objective of Web-Based Education: Learning from Experience is to learn from faculty experiences gained while implementing and utilizing these technologies. The book addresses many trends and issues associated with Web-Based Education, and explores the opportunities and problems confronting colleges and universities to effectively utilize and manage Web-Based Education in their teaching environments.
Call Number: JFM Online LB 1044.87 W42 2003ebISBN: 1591401100Publication Date: 2002-07-01
Active Learning
Hover over the "info" icon to see a description of the book or select the title link to access. One will be asked to login to use an eBook, if accessed remotely or via WiFi networks on campus.
- A Handbook of Reflective and Experiential Learning by
This handbook acts as an essential guide to understanding and using reflective and experiential learning - whether it be for personal or professional development, or as a tool for learning. It takes a fresh look at experiential and reflective learning, locating them within an overall theoretical framework for learning and exploring the relationships between different approaches. As well as the theory, the book provides practical ideas for applying the models of learning, with tools, activities and photocopiable resources which can be incorporated directly into classroom practice. This book is essential reading to guide any teacher, lecturer or trainer wanting to improve teaching and learning.
Call Number: JFM Online LB1027.23 .M66 2004ebISBN: 0203416155Publication Date: 2004-04-23
Action Learning and Action Research by
This volume sets out to provide experience-based tools for those needing to assess and improve teaching and learning quality. It presents a detailed framework explaining what action learning and research is with information on how to carry out an action learning project.
Call Number: JFM Online LB1027.23 .K46 2000ebISBN: 9781135792695Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Teaching and Learning Strategies for the Thinking Classroom by Call Number: JFM Online LB1027.23 .T426 2005ebISBN: 9781423747598Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Better Learning Through Structured Teaching by
Better Learning Through Structured Teaching describes how teachers can help students develop stronger learning skills by ensuring that instruction moves from modeling and guided practice (situations where the teacher has most of the responsibility) to collaborative learning and, finally, to independent tasks. You'll find out how to use the four components of this approach to help meet critical challenges, including differentiating instruction and making effective use of class time: 1. Focus Lessons: Establishing the lesson's purpose and then modeling your own thinking for students. 2. Guided Instruction: Working with small groups of students who have similar results on performance assessments. 3. Collaborative Learning: Enabling students to discuss and negotiate with one another to create independent work, not simply one project. 4. Independent Tasks: Requiring students to use their previous knowledge to create new and authentic products. The authors explore each component using student dialogues and examples from a variety of disciplines and grade levels. They provide tips and tools for successfully implementing this instructional approach in your own classroom, including checklists for classroom setup and routines, critical questions, real-world lesson plans, and more. No matter what grade level you teach, Better Learning Through Structured Teaching is your essential guide to helping students develop and expand their capacity for authentic and long-lasting learning.
Call Number: JFM Online LB1027.23 .F575 2008ebISBN: 9781416607212Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Professional and Leadership Development Through Action Learning and Action Research by
Action leadership is a creative, innovative, collaborative and self-developed way to lead. It eschews the hierarchical structure usually associated with leadership and is based instead on the democratic values of freedom, equality, inclusion and self-realization. It take responsibility for, not control over, people through networking and orchestrating human energy towards a holistic outcome that benefits the common interest. Action leaders are passionate people who abide by the motto that "Learning does not mean to fill a barrel but rather to ignite a flame" in others. And in this time of rapid economic, political, technological, social and ecological changes, action leadership and action leaders are precisely what's needed to improve how people and organizations engage constructively to address the myriad complex issues challenging society at all levels. Action Leadership: Towards a Participatory Paradigm explains and illustrates how action leadership can be developed through participatory action learning and action research (PALAR). It addresses real-life issues by people who choose to work collaboratively towards shared goals while developing their learning, insights, knowledge, people skills and personal relationships through involvement in a PALAR project. The book provides a conceptual framework for action leadership and for the integrative, practical theory of PALAR; and examples of applications in higher education, management education for organization development, and community development. Readers are encouraged to adopt, adapt and further develop the evolving concepts of action leadership and PALAR in a participatory paradigm of learning, research and development.
Call Number: JFM Online HD57.7 .Z83 2011ebISBN: 9789048139354Publication Date: 2011-04-15
