Print Titles
Distal Impact Ejecta Layers by
Impact cratering is an important geological process on all solid planetary bodies, and, in the case of Earth, may have had major climatic and biological effects. Most terrestrial impact craters have been erased or modified beyond recognition. However, major impacts throw ejecta over large areas of the Earth's surface. Recognition of these impact ejecta layers can help fill in the gaps in the terrestrial cratering record and at the same time provide direct correlation between major impacts and other geological events, such as climatic changes and mass extinctions. This book provides the first summary of known distal impact ejecta layers
ISBN: 9783540882619Publication Date: 2012-12-14
Structural Geology by
Lavishly illustrated in color, this textbook takes an applied approach to introduce undergraduate students to the basic principles of structural geology. The book provides unique links to industry applications in the upper crust, including petroleum and groundwater geology, which highlight the importance of structural geology in exploration and exploitation of petroleum and water resources. Topics range from faults and fractures forming near the surface to shear zones and folds of the deep crust. Students are engaged through examples and parallels drawn from practical everyday situations, enabling them to connect theory with practice. Containing numerous end-of-chapter problems, e-learning modules, and with stunning field photos and illustrations, this book provides the ultimate learning experience for all students of structural geology.
ISBN: 9780521516648Publication Date: 2010-07-15
Charles Darwin's Beagle Diary by
Here is a fascinating record of one of the most famous journeys ever made. This work constitutes an accurate historical document as well as an evocative travelog that conveys Charles Darwin's personal account of the voyage with freshness and immediacy.
ISBN: 0521235030Publication Date: 1988-07-21
Book Reviews
- Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development. Useful for educators, researchers, students, publishers, librarians, and patrons, Book Review Digest Plus provides access to concise, critical evaluations for books with subject coverage in areas such as art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences and many more
This link opens in a new window
- Books in Print This link opens in a new window Books in Print is a tool for finding books and multimedia published in any format, including e-books. It also contains book reviews, availability information, and synopses. The new interface allows users to create custom lists of titles. unlimited users. Content updated irregularly
- This link opens in a new window
eBooks
Geodiversity by
A counterpoint to biodiversity, geodiversity describes the rocks, sediments, soils, fossils, landforms, and the physical processes that underlie our environment. The first book to focus exclusively on the subject, Geodiversity describes the interrelationships between geodiversity and biodiversity, the value of geodiversity to society, as well as current threats to its existence. Illustrated with global case studies throughout, the book examines traditional approaches to protecting biodiversity and the new management agenda which is starting to be used instead.
ISBN: 0470090812Publication Date: 2004-06-25
Working on Mars by
Geologists in the field climb hills and hang onto craggy outcrops; they put their fingers in sand and scratch, smell, and even taste rocks. Beginning in 2004, however, a team of geologists and other planetary scientists did field science in a dark room in Pasadena, exploring Mars from NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) by means of the remotely operated Mars Exploration Rovers (MER). Clustered around monitors, living on Mars time, painstakingly plotting each movement of the rovers and their tools, sensors, and cameras, these scientists reported that they felt as if they were on Mars themselves, doing field science. The MER created a virtual experience of being on Mars. In this book, William Clancey examines how the MER has changed the nature of planetary field science. Drawing on his extensive observations of scientists in the field and at the JPL, Clancey investigates how the design of the rover mission enables field science on Mars, explaining how the scientists and rover engineers manipulate the vehicle and why the programmable tools and analytic instruments work so well for them. He shows how the scientists felt not as if they were issuing commands to a machine but rather as if they were working on the red planet, riding together in the rover on a voyage of discovery.Learn more about the book here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZQSWSZnTYs&feature=youtube_gdata
ISBN: 9780262305716Publication Date: 2012-09-07- Structural Geology by
Lavishly illustrated in color, this textbook takes an applied approach to introduce undergraduate students to the basic principles of structural geology. The book provides unique links to industry applications in the upper crust, including petroleum and groundwater geology, which highlight the importance of structural geology in exploration and exploitation of petroleum and water resources. Topics range from faults and fractures forming near the surface to shear zones and folds of the deep crust. Students are engaged through examples and parallels drawn from practical everyday situations, enabling them to connect theory with practice. Containing numerous end-of-chapter problems, e-learning modules, and with stunning field photos and illustrations, this book provides the ultimate learning experience for all students of structural geology.
ISBN: 9780521516648Publication Date: 2010-07-15
Earth Science by
Humans have been grappling with the nature of the planet on which they live since the dawn of their imagination. Although Earth science is typically seen as an "umbrella" term for a number of sciences, the 20th century ushered in the development of such f
ISBN: 9781438109794Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Project Earth Science by
Fifteen hands-on, teacher-tested, classroom activities that use readily available materials provide straightforward and up-to-date explanations of geologic processes and cycles.
ISBN: 9781936137305Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Reference books that check out!
A History of Earth in 100 Groundbreaking Discoveries by
An illustrated survey of 100 key events in Earth's dramatic history. A History of Earth in 100 Groundbreaking Discoveries is a fascinating account of the discoveries that reveal why Earth is the one planet in our solar system that can support life. It surveys 100 key events in the evolutionary history of our planet, from its origins and geological formation 4.5 billion years ago to the astonishing diversity of flora and fauna in the present day. More than 200 computer-generated images, photographs and illustrations highlight concise text that describes critical developments and junctures in Earth's evolution. The book covers: The material world, including rocks, mud, desert, crystals, water, clouds, ice and gases Earth's engine -- the core and magnetic field, fault zones, mountains and volcanoes Earth's changing face, including marine rocks, iron formations, glacial deposits and coal deposits The earliest life forms, simple and complex plants, domesticated plants and animals, 3.2 billion-year-old spores, sexual reproduction and the first true land plant How life evolves, including rapid development in mammals, insects and plants and the emergence of humans Computer simulations of future tectonic plate positions and changing sea levels The scientists who developed theories of change from observations, exploration and tests. A History of Earth in 100 Groundbreaking Discoveries is a journey back through the life of our planet, and it also explores what the future may hold. The book will be of interest to general readers as well as those interested in earth sciences, evolution and botany.
ISBN: 9781554078073Publication Date: 2011-08-04
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science by
The quaternary sciences constitute a dynamic, multidisciplinary field of research that has been growing in scientific and societal importance in recent years. This branch of the Earth sciences links ancient prehistory to modern environments. Quaternary terrestrial sediments contain the fossil remains of existing species of flora and fauna, and their immediate predecessors. Quaternary science plays an integral part in such important issues for modern society as groundwater resources and contamination, sea level change, geologic hazards (earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, tsunamis), and soil erosion. With over 360 articles and 2,600 pages, many in full-color, the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science provides broad ranging, up-to-date articles on all of the major topics in the field. Written by a team of leading experts and under the guidance of an international editorial board, the articles are at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with the latest information in the field. Also available online via ScienceDirect (2006) - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. · 360 individual articles written by prominent international authorities, encompassing all important aspects of quaternary science · Each entry provides comprehensive, in-depth treatment of an overview topic and presented in a functional, clear and uniform layout · Reference section provides guidence for further research on the topic · Article text supported by full-color photos, drawings, tables, and other visual material · Writing level is suited to both the expert and non-expert
ISBN: 9780444519191Publication Date: 2006-11-30
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of the Geological Sciences by
In-depth, comprehensive coverage of the Earth's solid phase with more than 50% new & revised material. This one-volume Encyclopedia provides a comprehensive treatment of the geological sciences & of the essential materials, processes, compositions, & physical characteristics of the solid part of the Earth's system. It includes both theoretical & practical information on such topics as mineralogy, petrology, historical & surficial geology, geochemistry, geophysics, paleontology, & soil science. A vital source of information for professionals, educators, & students, this updated Second Edition includes 520 alphabetically arranged articles, 650 halftones & line drawings, cross-references to related topics, & a 4500-entry analytical index.
ISBN: 9780070455009Publication Date: 1988-03-01
