Print Titles
Romantic Anatomies of Performance by
Romantic Anatomies of Performance is concerned with the very matter of musical expression: the hands and voices of virtuosic musicians. Rubini, Chopin, Nourrit, Liszt, Donzelli, Thalberg, Velluti, Sontag, and Malibran were prominent celebrity pianists and singers who plied their trade between London and Paris, the most dynamic musical centers of nineteenth-century Europe. In their day, performers such as these provoked an avalanche of commentary and analysis, inspiring debates over the nature of mind and body, emotion and materiality, spirituality and mechanism, artistry and skill. J. Q. Davies revisits these debates, examining how key musicians and their contemporaries made sense of extraordinary musical and physical abilities. This is a history told as much from scientific and medical writings as traditionally musicological ones. Davies describes competing notions of vocal and pianistic health, contrasts techniques of training, and explores the ways in which music acts in the cultivation of bodies..
ISBN: 9780520279391Publication Date: 2014-04-04
Material Culture and Electronic Sound by
This eighth volume of the Artefacts series explores how material culture has affected music and sound. Technological innovations in music that were originally created to solve existing problems have ended up expanding the range of what can be done musically and changing the landscape of music. Boon and Weium present a collection of essays exploring technological innovations and their effects on musical culture.Contributors include composers, performers, musicologists, and scientists, providing diverse insights into the nature of music. With a foreword by renowned British producer Brian Eno, Material Culture and Electronic Sound examines what has happened because technology and music crossed paths."
ISBN: 9781935623106Publication Date: 2013-01-29
The Great American Songbooks by
In the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, American authors pioneered a mode of musical writing that quite literally resounded beyond the printed page. Novels gained soundtracks, poetry compelled its audiences to sing, and the ostensibly silent act of reading became anything but. The Great American Songbooks is the story of this literature, at once an overview of musical and authorial practice at the century's turn, an investigation into the sensory dimensions of reading, and a meditation on the effects that the popular arts have had on literary modernism. The writings of John Dos Passos, Theodore Dreiser, T.S. Eliot, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, and Walt Whitman are heard in a new key; the performers and tunesmiths who inspired them have their stories told; and the music of the past, long out of print and fashion, is recapitulated and made available in digital form. A work of criticism situated at the crossroads of literary analysis, musicology, and cultural history, The Great American Songbooks demonstrates the importance of studying fiction and poetry from interdisciplinary perspectives, and it suggests new avenues for research in the dawning age of the digital humanities.
ISBN: 9780199862115Publication Date: 2013-01-11
Harmony in Haydn and Mozart by
Integrating Schenkerian tools and an innovative approach to harmony, David Damschroder provides numerous penetrating analyses of works by Haydn and Mozart. A series of introductory chapters assist readers in developing their analytical capacity. Beginning with short excerpts from string quartets, the study proceeds by assessing the inner workings of twelve expositions from Haydn piano sonatas, six arias in G minor from Mozart operas, and three rondos in D major from piano concertos by Haydn and Mozart. In the Masterworks section that follows, Damschroder presents detailed analyses of six movements from symphonies, string quartets and opera by Haydn and Mozart, and compares his outcomes with those of other analysts, including Kofi Agawu, Robert O. Gjerdingen, James Hepokoski and Warren Darcy, Carl Schachter and James Webster. The book represents an important contribution to modern analytical discourse on a treasured body of music and an assessment of recent accomplishments within that realm.
ISBN: 9781107025349Publication Date: 2012-08-16
Gale eBooks
eBooks
Antithetical Arts by
Peter Kivy presents a fascinating critical examination of the two rival ways of understanding instrumental music. He argues against 'literary' interpretation in terms of representational or narrative content, and defends musical formalism. Along the way he discusses interpretations of a range of works in the canon of absolute music. -;Antithetical Arts constitutes a defence of musical formalism against those who would put literary interpretations on the absolute music canon. In Part I, the historical origins of both the literary interpretation of absolute music and musical formalism are laid out. In Part II, specific attempts to put literary interpretations on various works of the absolute music canon are examined and criticized. Finally, in Part III, the question is raised as to what the human. significance of absolute music is, if it does not lie in its representational or narrative content. The answer is that, as yet, philosophy has no answer, and that the question should be considered an important one for philosophers of art to consider, and to try to answer without appeal to representational or. narrative content. -
ISBN: 9780191568060Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Sound Commitments by
The role of popular music is widely recognized in giving voice to radical political views, the plight of the oppressed, and the desire for social change. Avant-garde music, by contrast, is often thought to prioritize the pursuit of new technical or conceptual territory over issues of human and social concern. Yet throughout the activist 1960s, many avant-garde musicians were convinced that aesthetic experiment and social progressiveness made natural bedfellows. Intensely involved in the era's social and political upheavals, they often sought to reflect this engagement in their music. Yet how could avant-garde musicians make a meaningful contribution to social change if their music remained the preserve of a tiny, initiated clique? In answer, Sound Commitments, examines the encounter of avant-garde music and "the Sixties" across a range of genres, aesthetic positions and geographical locations. Through music for the concert hall, tape and electronic music, jazz and improvisation, participatory "events," performance art, and experimental popular music, the essays in this volume explore developments in the United States, France, West Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, the Soviet Union, Japan and parts of the "Third World," delving into the deep richness of avant-garde musicians' response to the decade's defining cultural shifts. Featuring new archival research and/or interviews with significant figures of the period in each chapter, Sound Commitments will appeal to researchers and advanced students in the fields of post-war music, cultures of the 1960s, and the avant-garde, as well as to an informed general readership.
ISBN: 9780199714360Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Music Business: the key concepts by
Music Business: The Key Concepts is a comprehensive guide to the terminology commonly used in the music business today. It embraces definitions from a number of relevant fields, including: general business marketing e-commerce intellectual property law economics entrepreneurship In an accessible A-Z format and fully cross-referenced throughout, this book is essential reading for music business students as well as those interested in the music industry.
ISBN: 9780203875056Publication Date: 2009-08-20
Interactive Multimedia Music Technologies by
Many multimedia music content owners and distributors are converting their archives of music scores from paper into digital images, and to machine readable symbolic notation in order to survive in the business world. Interactive Multimedia Music Technologies discusses relevant state-of-the-art technologies and consists of analysis, knowledge, and application scenarios as surveyed, analyzed, and evaluated by industry professionals.Interactive Multimedia Music Technologies exemplifies the newest functionalities of multimedia interactive music to be used for valorizing cultural heritage, content and archives that are not currently distributed due to lack of safety, suitable coding models, and conversion technologies. Interactive Multimedia Music Technologies explains new and innovative methods of promoting music and products for entertainment, distance teaching, valorizing archives, and commercial and non-commercial purposes, and provides new services for those connected via personal computers, mobile and other devices, for both sighted and print-impaired consumers.
ISBN: 9781599041520Publication Date: 2007-10-31
Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Classical Music
Quick and easy reference to classical music.
ISBN: 1423711378Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The NPR Classical Music Companion by
Do you enjoy classical music but wish you knew more about it? Do you buy CDs, tune in to radio programs, go to concerts, and sometimes wonder just what, precisely, all those Italian musical terms mean? In this wonderfully engaging guide, Miles Hoffman demystifies the terms and concepts of classical music in an accessible and witty style. With more than one hundred entries, The NPR Classical Music Companion delves into definitions and etymologies, explores terms with reference to famous composers and works, and calls upon amusing analogies to make sense of music's finer points. Ranging from a paragraph to a few pages, the explanations gathered here tackle both the familiar and the not so familiar, from " a cappella " to " motet," from " opus numbers " to " zarzuela." The result is a delightful and comprehensive assemblage. For anyone who thinks that only professional musicians can understand classical music, this guide offers a clear path through a potentially daunting world. As much a companion to keep by the radio as an enjoyable book to read in a few sittings, The NPR Classical Music Companion makes understanding music a pleasure.
ISBN: 0585338051Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Reference Books that Check Out!
The Harvard Concise Dictionary of Music and Musicians by
This compact guide to the history and performance of music is both authoritative and a pleasure to use. With entries drawn and condensed from the widely acclaimed New Harvard Dictionary of Music and its companion The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music, it is a dependable reference for home and classroom and for professional and amateur musicians.
ISBN: 0674000846Publication Date: 1999-11-29
The Oxford Dictionary of Music by
When The Oxford Dictionary of Music first appeared, it was hailed as "without question the most comprehensive, detailed, reliable one-volume reference work on music now available in the English language" (Music and Musicians). Extensively revised and expanded, the second edition features over 900 entirely new entries, and many more descriptions of U.S. composers and performers than in the original work. Now with over 12,000 total entries, the dictionary remains the most comprehensive one-volume reference work available, offering a wealth of information on music and musicians from the Middle Ages to the present. As in the past, the dictionary's coverage is exceptional, spanning musical topics of all kinds. Arranged alphabetically and laid out in an attractive two-column format, the entries cover over 2,000 composers of all nationalities, from Ludwig van Beethoven to Stravinsky and Strauss (including extensive, up-to-date lists of their principal works); almost 1,800 entries on performers in all fields, from Beverly Sills, to Paul McCartney, to Vaclav Nijinsky; over 450 entries on conductors; over 2,200 definitions of musical terms and forms, such as "intonation," "reggae," and "partimento"; over 550 descriptions of musical instruments; entries on leading orchestras and music academies around the world; and information on critics, journalists, and other writers on music. Written to appeal to general readers as well as musicians and musicologists, The Oxford Dictionary of Music is an indispensable addition to the reference shelf of the concert goer, the opera buff, the record buyer, or anyone involved in music, whether amateur or professional.
ISBN: 0198691629Publication Date: 1995-01-26
The New Harvard Dictionary of Music by
Nearly six thousand entries and articles define musical terms, describe instruments, and discuss musical forms, concepts, and theory.
ISBN: 9780674615250Publication Date: 1986-10-01
Book Reviews
- Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development. Useful for educators, researchers, students, publishers, librarians, and patrons, Book Review Digest Plus provides access to concise, critical evaluations for books with subject coverage in areas such as art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences and many more
This link opens in a new window
- Books in Print This link opens in a new window Books in Print is a tool for finding books and multimedia published in any format, including e-books. It also contains book reviews, availability information, and synopses. The new interface allows users to create custom lists of titles. unlimited users. Content updated irregularly
- This link opens in a new window
