Top Nursing Databases
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL®Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL®. Of those, 822 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
-
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
-
MEDLINE (PUBMED) This link opens in a new windowWeb-based database which covers almost all the medical and health literature, with over 15 million citations.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly. -
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowNursing Reference Center provides nurses with evidence-based resources that they can access for quick reference at the point of care including: •Quick Lessons•Evidence-Based Care Sheets •Nursing Cultural Competencies •Patient education handouts •Point-of-care drug information.
Database--Health Sciences
-
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowFocuses on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It provides full text for articles from journals, reports, proceedings, newsletters, pamphlets, and book excerpts.
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL®Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL®. Of those, 822 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
-
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy is an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research. These powerful tools can be used for in-classroom demonstrations and help with homework or research assignments. Users can access more than 4,300 structures and over 13,500 identifiable landmarks in the human body.
Students in 1st and 2nd-year Human Anatomy college courses can access a flexible and robust learning experience with Gale Interactive, allowing them to delve deep into concepts with tools to zoom, rotate, and explore models; experience guided interactive lessons aligned with course curriculum; view relevant reference content from Gale for further study and research; use self-assessments to ensure concept comprehension, and access resources on their computer at any time through multiple web browsers.
-
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA full service resource for people needing health related research. It provides an integrated collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Records are available in a combination of indexing, abstracts or full text formats. Topics included in the collection include information about alcoholism, AIDS, fitness, psychology, cancer, pediatrics, and much, much more
-
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowA consumer health database providing full text information on many health topics, including the medical sciences, nutrition and food sciences, child care, sports medicine, and general health.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis database provides many full-text, scholarly journal articles focusing on nursing and allied health disciplines.
-
MedicLatina This link opens in a new windowFull text peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish, with a collection of medical research and investigative journals published by Latin American medical publishers. Topics include neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.
Unlimited simultaneous users. -
MEDLINE (PUBMED) This link opens in a new windowWeb-based database which covers almost all the medical and health literature, with over 15 million citations.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly. -
MedlinePlus Health Information This link opens in a new windowThe first place to go for authoritative consumer health information. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. It also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news. MedlinePlus is available in Spanish from this link.
Databases -- Mental Health
-
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowPsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
-
Psychology + Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowContains full text articles from 1995 for journals in psychology and related fields, including peer-reviewed titles. Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. The majority of titles are available in native (searchable) PDF.
-
Psychology Journals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowLargest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.6 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.