About
 |
This guide is created to connect you to information that is freely available on the web and recommended by our Librarians. You will not need a login ID or password to access most content. You will be able to access from anywhere that you have internet connection including the comfort of your own home! Learn about Creative Commons. If you need help please feel free to utilize our various services which you can find on the Library's Help Page or scroll to the bottom of this page where you can find a 24/7 Chat Box for your convenience.
|
Open Ebooks Databases
- Bloomsbury Open Access EbooksMulti-Subject; monographs from Bloomsbury's interdisciplinary Open Content programme, in subject areas such as politics and development studies, including titles from the Globalizing Sport Studies and 'What Is?' Research Methods series. These works are published on open content licenses, meaning that the full text is available online for free in html format, and the titles are also available for purchase as an institutional e-book collection.
- De Gruyter OpenE-journals and E-books; De Gruyter Open is a leading publisher of Open Access academic content. Publishing in all major academic disciplines, De Gruyter Open is home to 435 scholarly journals and to over 100 books.
- Directory of Open Access BooksMulti-Subject; Provides access to e-books on various subjects.
- InTech BooksSTEM e-books; Hundreds of free Open Access Books in the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine containing thousands of research articles and academic papers.
- NCBI BookshelfLife Science & Healthcare; NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources. Using the forms below, you can get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease. We want to be the web’s one-stop resource for country statistics on everything from obesity to murders. Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.
- OAPENHumanities & Social Sciences; The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
- Open Library (Books)Millions of books available via controlled digital lending for free.
- Project GutenbergE-books; Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free e-books: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Open Access Journals, Articles, Datasets & Primary Sources
- Academic JournalsMulti-Subject Database : Academic Journals is a broad-based publisher of peer-reviewed open access journals. Academic Journals currently publishes 111 open access journals covering art and humanities, engineering, medical science, social sciences, biological sciences, physical sciences and agricultural sciences.
- African Journal ArchiveAfrican Studies * make sure the "free content" icon is selected. The African Journal Archive (AJA) is a Sabinet Gateway project in conjunction with the Carnegie Corporation that is making African research accessible to the whole world. The archive includes searchable collections of journal articles that have been digitized back to the earliest issues, a valuable resource for local and international libraries.
- AgEconAgriculture/Economics; AgEcon Search is a free-to-user Web site that contains the full text of working papers, conference papers and journal articles in applied economics, including the subtopics of agricultural, consumer, energy, environmental, and resource economics. Contributors include academic institutions, government agencies, professional associations, and non-government organizations.
- American Mathematical Society AMS Open Math NotesA repository of freely downloadable mathematical works in progress hosted by the American Mathematical Society as a service to researchers, teachers and students.
- Bentham OpenScience; BENTHAM OPEN publishes a number of peer-reviewed open access journals. These free-to-view online journals cover all major disciplines of science, technology, medicine and social sciences.
- BioMed CentralScientific Research; Free access to the highly rated journals published by BioMed Central.
- BMJ Journal OpenMedical; BMJ Open is an online, open access journal, dedicated to publishing medical research from all disciplines and therapeutic areas. The journal publishes all research study types, from study protocols to phase I trials to meta-analyses, including small, specialist studies, and negative studies. Publishing procedures are built around fully open peer review and continuous publication, publishing research online as soon as the article is ready.
- Cambridge University Press Open Access Journals"We publish a number of Gold OA journals and books and work with publishing partners such as learned societies to develop OA in different communities."
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersAmerican History; Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
- CiteSeerXComputer/Information Science; CiteSeer was a public search engine and digital library for scientific and academic papers, primarily in the fields of computer and information science, that has been replaced by CiteSeerX. Many consider it to be the first academic paper search engine. It became public in 1998 and had many new features unavailable in academic search engines at that time.
- The Complete Works of William ShakespeareLiterature; Full texts can be obtained by searching either the chronological listing or the alphabetical listing in this site.
- Congress.govLaw; Search U.S. legislative information (bills, public laws, treaties, and more.
- DATA.GOVData sets; Data.gov is managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration, Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies. 182,131 datasets available as of 06/2016.
- De Gruyter OpenE-journals and E-books; De Gruyter Open is a leading publisher of Open Access academic content. Publishing in all major academic disciplines, De Gruyter Open is home to 435 scholarly journals and to over 100 books.
- Digital Commons NetworkThe Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, this dynamic research tool includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. Subjects included are: Law, Social and Behavioral Sciences; Arts and Humanities; Physical Sciences and Mathematics; Life Sciences; Education; Engineering; Medicine and Health Sciences; Business; and Architecture.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)Multi-Subject; DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- Dove Press JournalsScientific and Medical Research; Dove Medical Press Ltd is a privately held UK company specializing in the publication of Open Access peer-reviewed journals across the broad spectrum of science, technology and especially medicine.
- Elsevier Science Open Access JournalsAll articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750History-Bibliography; This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
- GallupPolls on Current Topics; Polls on topics such as:
Daily News, Politics, Economy, Wellbeing, World News - Google Public Data ExplorerData sets; Google's Public Data Explorer provides public data and forecasts from a range of international organizations and academic institutions including the World Bank, OECD, Eurostat and the University of Denver. These can be displayed as line graphs, bar graphs, cross sectional plots or on maps.
- Hindawi Publishing CorporationScience & Technology; Hindawi publishes 405 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of Science, Technology, and Medicine, as well as several areas of Social Sciences.
- InTech JournalsSTEM Journals; The first Open Access robotics journal published in the STM field and indexed in ISI Thomson Reuters. ... Open Access, international, peer-reviewed scientific journal which is addressed to a cross-disciplinary readership including scientists, researchers and professionals in both.
- Internet ArchiveInternet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
- Listing of Open Access Databases"The objective of Listing of Open Access DataBases (LOADB) is to create a web-enabled, linked, classified and categorized collection of Open Access Databases which one can access from a single portal. Although initial focus is on science and technology subjects, the ultimate aim is to include all subject areas." CSIR-URDIP does not guarantee the content of any database. Publishers are responsible for the information about their organization and their products.
- Making of AmericaAmerican History; The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints
- MedknowMedicine; The majority of our journals provide immediate free access to the full text of articles. Authors can self-archive their published articles.
- National Bureau of Economic ResearchEconomics; The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) is an American private nonprofit research organization "committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community."[1] The NBER is well known for providing start and end dates for recessions in the United States.
- National Institutes of Health (NIH)Medical; A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world.
- New York Public Library Picture CollectionDigital Images; Contains 30,000 high-resolution digital images taken from the New York Public Library's extensive collection of books, magazines, newspapers, photographs, and prints. Most images are pre-1923, and the collection is especially strong in the areas of fashion and natural history.
- OAIsterDigital Images; OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 30 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,500 contributors.
- Open Access Theses and DissertationsOATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 5,935,834 theses and dissertations.
- Open Journal Content- JSTOR & ARTSTORMulti-Subject; On September 6, 2011, we made journal content in JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere freely available to anyone, anywhere in the world. This “Early Journal Content” includes discourse and scholarship in the arts and humanities, economics and politics, and in mathematics and other sciences. It includes nearly 500,000 articles from more than 200 journals. This represents 6% of the content on JSTOR.
- Poetry FoundationAccess to poetry and other resources
- Project EuclidMath/Statistics-Only titles listed on the landing page are open access. Look for a green circle with a check mark for open access articles.
- Public Health Emergency COVID-19 InitiativeOn March 13, 2020, the National Science and Technology Advisors from a dozen countries, including the United States, called on publishers to voluntarily make their COVID-19 and coronavirus-related publications, and the available data supporting them, immediately accessible in PubMed Central (PMC) and other appropriate public repositories to support the ongoing public health emergency response efforts.
- Public Library of Sciences (PLOS) CollectionsPLOS Collections bring you expert research from active researchers across the field. Covering a connected body of work and evaluated by leading subject experts, our collections make it easier to delve deeper into specific research topics from across the breadth of the PLOS portfolio.
- PubMed CentralHealth; PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- RedalycScience; Hundreds of peer-reviewed open access research journals, published by more than 500 institutions from twenty two Ibero-American countries, indexed by Redalyc.
- Registry of Research Data RepositoriesData sets; re3data.org has reached a milestone of identifying and listing 1,500 research data repositories, making it the largest and most comprehensive registry of data repositories available on the web. It has grown steadily since its launch four years ago to cover a wide range of disciplines from around the world.
- Science.govScience; Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.
- ScienceDirect Open Access JournalsScience, chemistry, biology, mathematics, engineering and technology, physics, medicine and more.
- SpringerOpenMulti-Subject; Freely and permanently available online for anyone, anywhere. Open access publishing allows free access to and distribution of published articles and books.
- Taylor & Francis Open JournalsMulti-Subject * Look for "Open access" in green; Articles that are open access will appear with the green “Open access” indicator in the list of search results.
- THOMASNET.comBusiness; Freely searchable database of hundreds of thousands of North American manufacturers, suppliers, and products. Users can also browse the Thomas classifications to find manufacturers of specific products.
- USA.govU.S. Government
- Wiley Open AccessScience; Wiley Open Access journals are supported by a network of authoritative journals and societies as well as internationally renowned editorial board members. All research articles published in Wiley Open Access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share. Wiley Open Access publishes a number of online journals across biological, chemical and health sciences.
- WorldCatCatalog; Online catalog of libraries worldwide. Search for: books, articles, media in one site. Usually referral information only, limited full-text.
- Your DictionaryDictionary, Thesaurus, Quotes and More.
- ZanranStats; Search for statistical data. Registration required, available at no cost.
- GBIF Global Biodiversity Information FacilityGBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
67,980 Datasets
1,804 Publishing Institutions
6,860 Peer Reviewed Papers
...and growing
Public Libraries
 |
Should the recommended databases not fill your need, your public library also offers access to many databases. You will need to be a member and various rules may apply. Visit your local library in person or their website for specifics. |
For your convenience, here are links to local area public libraries:
- LibWeb LibraryDirectory; LibWeb is a directory of worldwide libraries, library catalogs and library servers.
- Texarkana Public LibraryThe Texarkana Public Library provides free services to all residents living within the city limits of Texarkana, Arkansas and Texarkana, Texas. Services are available to citizens outside the city limits for a fee.