Print Titles
Globalization and Language in the Spanish-Speaking World by
This volume considers, at global and at local levels, the spread of Spanish today and particularly its role in the face of processes of globalization. Spanish is frequently the dominant language in this contact situation. But how contested is its hegemony; and how far does contact with it threaten other languages? How are these other, weaker, minoritized languages prospering in a world where a few strong, global languages may be taking over their linguistic domains?
ISBN: 9780230000186Publication Date: 2006-11-28
Spanish for Nurses by
The need for nurses to understand Spanish is gaining importance ever year, with over 35 million Spanish speakers in the United States. This book is an easy-to-use, pocket-sized reference for nurses in all stages of their careers who desire to communicate better with patients.
ISBN: 9781419596100Publication Date: 2007-04-17
The Art of Teaching Spanish by
The Art of Teaching Spanish explores in-depth the findings of research in second language acquisition (SLA) and other language-related fields and translates those findings into practical pedagogical tools for current -- and future -- Spanish-language instructors. This volume addresses how theoretical frameworks affect the application of research findings to the teaching of Spanish, how logistical factors affect the way research findings can be applied to teach Spanish, and how findings from Spanish SLA research would be applicable to Spanish second language teaching and represented in Spanish curricula through objectives and goals (as evidenced in pedagogical materials such as textbooks and computer-assisted language learning software). Top SLA researchers and applied linguists lend their expertise on matters such as foreign language across curriculum programs, testing, online learning, the incorporation of linguistic variation into the classroom, heritage language learners, the teaching of translation, the effects of study abroad and classroom contexts on learning, and other pedagogical issues. Other common themes of The Art of Teaching Spanish include the rejection of the concept of a monolithic language competence, the importance of language as social practice and cultural competence, the psycholinguistic component of SLA, and the need for more cross-fertilization from related fields.
ISBN: 9781589011335Publication Date: 2006-12-08
Gramatica para la Composicion by
Integrating grammar and composition, this comprehensive textbook guides the advanced student through progressively more complex types of writing by organizing the grammar lessons on a functionalist basis around the needs of composition. This approach promotes systematic language development as part of the preparation for each task. description, synopsis, personal narrative, creative narrative, exposition, and argumentation. Refined by eight years of classroom testing and error analysis of the problems students encounter, it incorporates research in composition, second-language acquisition, and linguistics.
ISBN: 9780878407781Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Book Reviews
- Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development. Useful for educators, researchers, students, publishers, librarians, and patrons, Book Review Digest Plus provides access to concise, critical evaluations for books with subject coverage in areas such as art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences and many more
This link opens in a new window
- Books in Print This link opens in a new window Books in Print is a tool for finding books and multimedia published in any format, including e-books. It also contains book reviews, availability information, and synopses. The new interface allows users to create custom lists of titles. unlimited users. Content updated irregularly
- This link opens in a new window
eBooks
Schaum's Outline of Spanish Vocabulary by
Includes exercises and drills for quick learning
ISBN: 0071543929Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Basic Spanish by
Learn the Spanish you need. Gain the language skills you want. "Practice Makes Perfect: Basic Spanish" is a trusted companion to your Spanish-learning experience. In each bite-sized lesson, author Dorothy Richmond explains one--and only one--grammar concept and illustrates it with many clear examples. The accompanying fun and interesting exercises let you practice, practice, practice what you have learned. Although these lessons are purposely short so you can complete them in twenty minutes or less, you can go at a pace that works for you. This guide/workbook will help you master present tense verb conjugation the "ser" and "estar" verb forms adjectives possessive pronouns sentence structures the contractions "al" and "del" indefinite articles "tener" idioms and more Whether you are learning on your own or taking a beginning Spanish class, "Practice Makes Perfect: Basic Spanish" will help you build your confidence."
ISBN: 0071642234Publication Date: 2009-01-01
En Activo by
En Activo is a contemporary course which provides students with a structured development of written and spoken business language skills, focusing on real business people and situations from all over the Spanish-speaking world. The book consists of twenty chapters that incorporate contextual information on the business environment of Spain and Latin America, role-plays, illustrative dialogues, dedicated written exercises, relevant grammar instruction, practical communicative exercises, up-to-date practical advice, model items of written and spoken business protocol, and links to numerous carefully-selected and integrated websites. Each chapter is structured as follows: -Le Presento a...: introduction of the central individual and their working life -Escuche, por favor: extensive listening exercises and accompanying activities -Recuerde que...: grammar revision and communicative exercises -Para saber más: deepens knowledge about Spanish and Latin-American business culture and etiquette -Así se hace: hands-on section practising business situations and day-to-day tasks -¿Sabe navegar?: practices web research and web etiquette. Each fifth chapter is a revision chapter, which puts the acquired knowledge in practice via discussion groups, presentations and debates. The supporting website at www.enactivo.info features additional web and learning resources and exercises. An audio CDnbsp;containing all interviews and listening comprehension exercises is available separately. At the end of this course the student will have a sound knowledge of the Spanish speaking business world and the language skills required to put this knowledge in practice.
ISBN: 9780203928189Publication Date: 2008-07-29
The big red book of Spanish Grammar by
Perfect for advanced beginning and intermediate students of Spanish CD-ROM features 300 exercises not included in the book Exercises on CD-ROM are cross-referenced to grammar explanations in the book
ISBN: 9780071547611Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Webster's New World 575+ Spanish Verbs by
Your one-stop reference for Spanish verbs Mastering Spanish verbs is a tough job for students learning the language, but now it's easier than ever! Whether you're studying the language in school or translating a report for work, Webster's New World 575+ Spanish Verbs is the only verb reference you need. This handy resource lists verbs alphabetically in every mood and tense, complete with their idiomatic forms-so you'll not only know how to use a verb, but when to use it, too. Webster's New World 575+ Spanish Verbs is the best Spanish verb reference money can buy, packed with more verbs and more extra features, like: * A comprehensive review of the rules of Spanish conjugation * More than 1,500 additional verbs in their infinitive form, fully cross-referenced * Multiple sample sentences that demonstrate common usage for each verb * An appendix of irregular verbs to cut down on confusion * A full English-to-Spanish index of all the verbs in the book
ISBN: 0764567713Publication Date: 2004-02-15
Gale eBooks
Reference books that check out!
Spanish-English English-Spanish Medical Dictionary by
With the rapid growth of the Spanish-speaking population worldwide, this comprehensive communicator has become an indispensable resource for healthcare students and professionals everywhere. The Fourth Edition has been designed to give easier and faster access to nearly 23,000 comprehensive medical terms, technology-related medical terms, and medical abbreviations, plus definitions, translations, tips on pronunciation, signs and symptoms of common disorders, practical phrases used in daily communication with patients, and much more. Access to thePoint website featuring audio pronunciation glossary with Spanish audio, image bank, and appendices formatted as PDFs
ISBN: 9781608311293Publication Date: 2010-12-22
Routledge Spanish technical dictionary = Diccionario técnico inglés.
These 2 volumes consist of some 100,000 headwords in both Spanish and English, including 3,000 abbreviations. Terms are drawn from the whole range of modern applied science and technical terminology. These volumes can be purchased either separately or together in print and as a set on CD-ROM. Each volume is compiled by an international team of subject terminologists, native English and Spanish speakers. Special attention is given to differences between UK and US terminology, and to Spanish and Latin-American variants. Over 70 subject areas are covered including: * Transport * Physics * Mechanical Engineering * Automotive Engineering * Electricity * Mining * Chemistry * Construction * Electrical Engineering * Geology * Railways * Production Engineering * Geophysics * Fuelless Energy Sources * Military Technology * Quality * Assurance * Television * Particle Physics * Space Technology * Pollution * Optics * Telecommunications * Safety Engineering * Electronics * Nuclear Technology * Chemical Technology * Packaging * Computing & Data Processing * Recyclingamp;lt;BR>* Assurance * Television * Particle Physics * Space Technology * Pollution * Optics * Telecommunications * Safety Engineering * Electronics * Nuclear Technology * Chemical Technology * Packaging * Computing & Data Processing * Recycling
ISBN: 9780415112741Publication Date: 1997-02-17The new Velázquez Spanish and English Dictionary (eBook) by A current, comprehensive collection defined in both English & Spanish. Reflects significant Penal Code offenses & Criminal Procedure terms. Also includes a Spanish-English index & flow charts of criminal justice procedure, indicating the steps from the commission of an offense & arrest to trial & disposition of a case, 11 penal offense charts of the major categories of penal offenses & the corresponding offenses within each category.
ISBN: 1417504420Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture (eBook) by ISBN: 978-1884964312Publication Date: 1997
