Print Titles
Addressing the Spiritual Dimensions of Adult Learning: What Educators Can Do by
In this issue, the authors argue that adult educators must find ways to add a spiritual dimension to their practice if they are to take a truly comprehensive approach to adult education, one that meets all of adult learners needs.
ISBN: 0787953644Publication Date: 2000-04-19
Learning from Our Lives by
"This book is refreshingly personal and studded with insightful case study examples. It is a timely and major contribution to the literature of adult education."<br /> ––Jack Mezirow, professor emeritus, Adult and Continuing Education, Teachers College, Columbia University<br /> <br /> "A brilliant tribute to the value of teachers intentionally guiding students to sharpen what I believe Howard Gardner has named intrapersonal intelligence."<br /> ––Margaret Holt, assistant professor, University of Georgia, Athens<br /> <br /> "A valuable contribution to the growing dialogue centering around narrative approaches to education, autobiographical learning, and ways in which autobiographical activities stimulate personal growth and transformative learning."<br /> ––Marsha Rossiter, associate director, Division of Continuing Education and Extension, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh<br /> <br /> This is the first professional guide to using educational biography with adult learners. It offers engaging anecdotes and narratives, insightful interpretations and analyses, and numerous examples of different biographical approaches. Written for practitioners who conduct adult educational programs in formal or informal settings, this book can help teachers, trainers, career counselors, and human resource professionals to empower learners in assuming greater responsibility for their education and development. Pierre Dominice draws valuable lessons from his work with educational biography to describe the multiple ways in which adults think and learn. His explorations help educators to stay focused on learning and not just teaching.
ISBN: 0787910317Publication Date: 2000-07-31
Learning to Listen, Learning to Teach by
In this updated version of her landmark book Learning to Listen, Learning to Teach, celebrated adult educator Jane Vella revisits her twelve principles of dialogue education with a new theoretical perspective gleaned from the discipline of quantum physics. Vella sees the path to learning as a holistic, integrated, spiritual, and energetic process. She uses engaging, personal stories of her work in a variety of adult learning settings, in different countries and with different educational purposes, to show readers how to utilize the twelve principles in their own practice with any type of adult learner, anywhere.
ISBN: 0787959677Publication Date: 2002-07-04
Adult Learner by
This much acclaimed text has been fully updated to incorporate the latest advances in the field. As leading authorities on adult education and training, Elwood Holton and Dick Swanson have revised this edition building on the work of the late Malcolm Knolwes. Keeping to the practical format of the last edition, this book is divided into three parts. The first part contains the classic chapters that describe the roots and principles of andragogy, including a new chapter, which presents Knowles' program planning model. The second part focuses on the advancements in adult learning with each chapter fully revised updated, incorporating a major expansion of Androgogy in Practice. The last part of the book will contain an updated selection of topical readings that advance the theory and will include the HRD style inventory developed by Dr. Knowles. This new edition is essential reading for adult learning practitioners and students and HRD professionals. It provides a theoretical framework for understanding the adult learning issues both in the teaching and workplace environments. * Provides a theoretical framework for understanding adult learning issues both in teaching and workplace environments * Essential reading for a wide audience of practitioners and students in the field of adult learning and human resource development * Incorporates Knowles'classic theories on adult learning alongside the latest advances in the field
ISBN: 0750678372Publication Date: 2005-01-25
Book Reviews
- Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development. Useful for educators, researchers, students, publishers, librarians, and patrons, Book Review Digest Plus provides access to concise, critical evaluations for books with subject coverage in areas such as art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences and many more
This link opens in a new window
- Books in Print This link opens in a new window Books in Print is a tool for finding books and multimedia published in any format, including e-books. It also contains book reviews, availability information, and synopses. The new interface allows users to create custom lists of titles. unlimited users. Content updated irregularly
- This link opens in a new window
eBooks
Adult Education and Lifelong Learning by
This is the third edition of Peter Jarvis' classic textbook, Adult and Continuing Education, which established itself as the most widely used and respected book about education for adults today. In this new edition, the author has made extensive revisions and included substantial additional material to take account of the many changes that have occurred in the field of adult education. Additional and updated material in this much-anticipated new edition includes: a discussion on both globalisation and Europeanisation, indicating the pressures that have been exerted on the educational system to change a greater emphasis on lifelong education, lifelong learning and society an extended discussion on the theorists of distance education and introductory material on e-learning and on-line learning an updated look at changes in UK policy and European policy documents new material on the relationship between research, learning and the changing approaches to knowledge, with more emphasis placed on action learning and research.
ISBN: 0203561562Publication Date: 2004-08-13
Learning to Listen, Learning to Teach by
In this updated version of her landmark book Learning to Listen, Learning to Teach, celebrated adult educator Jane Vella revisits her twelve principles of dialogue education with a new theoretical perspective gleaned from the discipline of quantum physics. Vella sees the path to learning as a holistic, integrated, spiritual, and energetic process. She uses engaging, personal stories of her work in a variety of adult learning settings, in different countries and with different educational purposes, to show readers how to utilize the twelve principles in their own practice with any type of adult learner, anywhere.
ISBN: 078796607XPublication Date: 2002-10-02
Key Concepts in Adult Education and Training by
As adults, we are all continually involved in learning, with increasing numbers of us engaged in more formalized forms of learning; that is, in education or training. All those involved in the broad field of adult education and training will come into contact with many specialist ideas or concepts. It is often assumed of students that they already have a general understanding of these concepts, their meanings, applicability and inter-relationships. This is not always the case.This book examines in detail over forty of these key concepts, ranging from community education and experiential learning to competence and access. It presents a clear, analytical discussion in jargon-free language. It is, therefore, indispensable to all students and practitioners of adult education and training.
ISBN: 0585461562Publication Date: 2002-01-01
