History Databases
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes Early American newspapers, Series 1 – 7 (1690 – 1922) and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808 - 1980). African American Newspapers (1827-1999) and Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876) Part of the Archive of Americana. Unlimited simultaneous users allowed. Content is updated monthly - Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) Series I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of many of the Spanish language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the early 20th century, documenting the role of Mexican immigrants and providing an outlet for Hispanic voices. The newspapers date from the 1800’s to the 1950’s, representing locations such as Indiana and Missouri, although most locations focus on New Mexico and Texas cities and towns. Part of the Archive of Americana. - Making of America Journals (MOA) Cornell This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
MOA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science & technology. - Making of America Journals (MOA) Michigan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MOA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science & technology. - Texas Digital Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Digitized maps provide detailed property and land-use records depicting the architecture of Texas towns and cities throughout the past one hundred years. The maps enable researchers to trace the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, neighborhoods and communities. - Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. - U.S. Congressional Serial Set Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browseable interface for content of the U.S. Serial Set, from 1817 to 1870. Search or browse by subject, by Congress, by committee, or publication category. Publication categories include annual reports, congressional journals, executive department publications, hearings, monographs, treaties and conventions, and other types of documents. A work in progress covers up to 1870.
- National Historical Geographic Information SystemThe National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present.
It works in conjunction with IPUMS which provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context. Data and services available free of charge.