Visitors will be assigned a study room in the John F. Moss Library while using materials from the archives. Archives staff or a student worker will monitor researchers for the duration of their visit.
No food or drink on the same table as archival materials.
It is recommended to handle materials with clean, dry hands. Nitrile or cotton gloves may be provided if warranted by the material type.
Researchers may use a computer, tablet, or No. 2 pencil to take notes.
Up to 3 boxes may be removed from the archives at a time.
Remove one folder/ item at a time.
Maintain the order of the items in the collection.
Do not mark on collection items.
The University Archives welcomes contributions of materials that support our mission and collection scope. Extent and material format will also be considered due to space and resource limitations. Please consult with the Archives Librarian if you believe you have items that will make a good fit for the collection.
The collection donor will be required to complete a Deed of Gift, granting the University Archives permission to make decisions regarding preservation, arrangement, display, access, and disposal of any materials accepted. Donors may specify restrictions at this time.
The KICK scanning station is available for researchers to use on the 3rd floor of the Library by the Circulation desk.
Unless otherwise indicated researchers may take photos or make scans of archival materials that do not contain personally identifiable information, such as social security numbers. However, it is not the responsibility of the University Archives to enforce copyright regulations. Proper attribution or citation is required for copyrighted materials that will be reused in publications or distributed in print or online.
For more information on copyright, view Title 17 of the United States Code: The Copyright Law of the United States.
Researchers unable to visit in person may request digital scans of up to:
1 chapter or section of a book,
1 folder,
20 pages, or
10 photographs from an archival collection.
Please describe your research project or goal when requesting scans, so that Archives staff can determine whether or not the request can be fulfilled and can assist in identifying the most relevant materials for scanning.
Scan resolution ranges from 200-600 DPI.
Additional scanning options include: splitting images, adjusting brightness and contrast, and color output.
Editing options include: cropping, rotating and flipping scans, deleting unwanted or incorrect scans, adding effects or text.
Files can be saved by USB flash drive, external hard drive, email*, or cloud storage. Files can be renamed and sent as a single PDF of individual scans with sequential numbering.
*The email function works best with tamut.edu or ace.tamut.edu addresses.
Please consult the circulation desk or archives staff for additional instruction on the KIC scanner.