LibGuides: Social Work: Databases

Social Work is an interdisciplinary field, integrating sociology, psychology, public health, family studies, and more. We do not have any databases that are solely targeted to social work, but rather several that touch on relevant topics.

Remember that using the WorldCat Discovery search (either at that link or the search bar below) enables you to search many databases simultaneously -- you can always narrow down your subject from the results page.

Search Tips

Quick Steps to Locate Journal Articles on a subject

Use a database (electronic index)
Start with a broad subject
Use Boolean Operators (And, Or , Not) to narrow the search
If you find the perfect article, locate the subject headings/descriptors then search by them, or use the find more like this feature
Remember to refine by dates and/or peer review

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR- Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collections include the complete back runs journals in fifteen disciplines, with many core research journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology. Includes titles in the fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Publications include over 447 subscribed journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine
Academic Video Online (AVON)- Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
On a single cross-searchable platform, users have a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles that your institution subscribes to or owns, including VAST: Academic Video Online (a large, multidisciplinary video product with nearly 17,000 videos and continuing to grow), along with individual discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more.

Vocational Databases

Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals, including American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.

Social Work Databases

Search these databases individually in order to narrow your results to a targeted field.
The library's full list of available databases is available on our Databases A-Z page.
We also have a list of helpful Database FAQs.

Academic Video Online (AVON)- Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
On a single cross-searchable platform, users have a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles that your institution subscribes to or owns, including VAST: Academic Video Online (a large, multidisciplinary video product with nearly 17,000 videos and continuing to grow), along with individual discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL®Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL®. Of those, 822 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
• Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
• Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
• Cochrane Methodology Register
• Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
• Health Technology Assessment Database
• NHS Economic Evaluation Database
• About The Cochrane Collaboration
DSM Library: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. DSM-5® is used by health professionals, social workers,and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders, and is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (USDE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, contains citations for journal and non-journal education literature.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journal of Family Studies, Journal of Marriage & Family, Family Relations, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1979.
MEDLINE (PUBMED) This link opens in a new window
Web-based database which covers almost all the medical and health literature, with over 15 million citations.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Psychology + Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from 1995 for journals in psychology and related fields, including peer-reviewed titles. Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. The majority of titles are available in native (searchable) PDF.
Psychology Journals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.
Additionally, ProQuest Psychology Journals includes 4,000 full text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics and social psychology.
ProQuest Psychology Journals encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.6 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Publications include over 447 subscribed journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offering more peer-reviewed, full-text journals than any other sociology research database, Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
1,072 active full-text journals and magazines
1,009 active full-text peer-reviewed journals
612 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo
601 active full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus