Library Help
- Library Help PageAccess for hours, chat with a librarian 24/7, email, search FAQs, and more.
Remote Access Instructions
OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS
After selecting a resource a you will be asked for your Username and Password (this will authenticate you for a search session). Use your EagleID.
-
EagleID is the first 4 characters of your last name plus the last 4 digits of your Campus Wide I.D. (CWID) number. If your last name is 3 characters long or less, just use those letters. If your name has a special character, such as an apostrophe or space, omit the special character and just use the letters. See the examples below:
Jones, John / 123456789 à jone6789
Lee, Kelly / 123456789 à Lee6789
O'Brian, Carol / 123456789 à OBri6789Initial Password The initial Password is Tamut followed by the last four digits of your CWID number (example Tamut6789).
- Lastly, the authentication process uses "cookies" to remember that you are logged in for that session only. Once you close the browser, your session will terminate. It will be necessary to log in for each session.
-
Self-Reset Password instructions. Recommended to do this sooner rather than later. Then you can self reset your password when you forget off campus and or during the weekend.
Having trouble with EagleID Login or Password Self-Service did not work, call IT Service desk 903-334-6603. To report problems or need help with a database contact the library.
Welcome!
Welcome to the Social Work Library Subject Guide.
Information located within this guide is designed to provide you with a beginning point for your research and class assignments.
Library Help Quick Links
- Help! page: Includes contact info, FAQs, and library chat
- Worldcat Discovery Online Catalog: Online catalog for Texas A&M University-Texarkana
- Inter-Library Loan: This link will show you how to submit an ILL
- Electronic Journal Search: Search for the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper (e.g. Newsweek, Journal of Anthropology). Then search within the publication for your article or topic.
Topics
The field of Social Work contains many smaller topics. If you are just starting to research, you might want to explore a little. Our Gale databases have an interactive "Topic Finder" feature that is extremely helpful for this. To access the Topic Finder, you can choose a Gale database from the list below, and then go to the Topic Finder link.
The scope of what you will find will depend on what database you choose. For example, if you are particularly interested in social work and criminal justice, you would choose the Gale Criminal Justice database.
- Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contemporary Women's Issues features current full text and pertinent backfile coverage of topics relevant to women around the world, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship. - Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Criminal Justice Collection informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more. The Criminal Justice Collection makes research easy by bringing together information from more than 250 journals. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience. - Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Exclusive features, including Topic Finder,and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience. - Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator--from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience. - Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full service resource for people needing health related research. It provides an integrated collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Records are available in a combination of indexing, abstracts or full text formats. Topics included in the collection include information about alcoholism, AIDS, fitness, psychology, cancer, pediatrics, and much, much more - Vocations & Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Vocations and Careers Collection provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience. - World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
- Conducting a successful literature search
A researcher’s guide to tools, terms and techniques outlined in a step by step process via Power Point Presentation