Finding an Article from a Citation
When you have a citation, but aren't in a library database, you will need to see if the Library has the journal. To do this, you will need the journal title to determine if we have the journal online (via our EJournals search) or in print (a journal search in Lens or the Library Catalog).
Below are examples of citations from different fields to help you identify the journal name.
Enter "America Literary History" in Lens as a Journal search, or in the EJournals tab on our website. Look for 2005, volume 17, number 1.
In some citations (especially in the sciences) the name of the journal is abbreviated. You can find this using ISI's Journal Title Abbreviations or ask a librarian. In this case, the journal name is Space Science Review., volume 104, issue 1-2, published in 2002..
Enter Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica as the journal name in Lens or the EJournals list. Look for the year, 2004, and volume 110, issue 5.
Find out if a journals is Peer Reviewed
For an exact article, eJournal, or eBook
- Worldcat Link ResolverFind an eJournal by title/ISSN, subject, or just browse by journal titles that are accessible electronically.
Top Philosophy Journals
- Journal of applied philosophyCovers moral, social, and political philosophy and ethics applied to problems of practical concern. Covers a broad spectrum of issues in environment and medicine, science policy, law and education.
- Journal of the History of PhilosophyAn international journal of articles, notes, discussions and reviews about the history of Western philosophy, published in the major Western languages.
- NOUSNoûs, a premier philosophy journal, publishes articles that address the whole range of topics at the center of philosophical debate, as well as long critical studies of important books. Subscribers to Noûs also receive two prestigious annual publications at no additional cost: Philosophical Issues and Philosophical Perspectives.
- Philosophical QuarterlyThe Philosophical Quarterly is one of the most highly regarded and established academic journals in philosophy. On average, it accepts just 4% of the over 850 articles submitted per year.
- The Philosophical ReviewIn continuous publication since 1892, the Philosophical Review has a long-standing reputation for excellence. The journal aims to publish original scholarly work in all areas of analytic philosophy, with an emphasis on material of general interest to academic philosophers, and is one of the few journals in the discipline to publish book reviews.
- Philosophical StudiesDevoted to the publication of papers in exclusively analytic philosophy.
Finding Articles
If you are looking for articles on a specific topic, or by a specific author, you will have to use a tool called an index. Most indexes are available online as databases.
Article databases may be interdisciplinary (indexing a wide variety of publications in all fields) or may focus on a specific range of publications (by subject, type of publication, or year of publication). Below are a few places to find databases for your topic.
- Quick Links
The box on the left lists interdisciplinary databases which are good to start your resarch with. -
For most research topics, it is best to use one of the Library's subject databases. The tab above provides a list of key article databases arranged by subject.
-
Research Guides by Subject
The Library has extensive help guides which highlight resources and services for each field. Research guides provide far comprehensive descriptions for each database, as well as extensive lists of reliable resources available over the web. -
Database Finder
The Database Finder includes all of the Library's databases, as well as selected resources that are available freely on the web. You can locate electronic resources by title or search by subject. Use the Advanced Search, limiting to "Articles and Indexes", for the best results.
- Ask a Librarian
The Library's reference librarians and subject specialists/bibliographers can suggest the best databases to use for your research, and can provide helpful search tips and techniques.