Digital and Technical Services Librarian
Disclaimer
The Library has not evaluated these resources for content nor accessibility. Use your professional and subject expertise in evaluating and using these resources.
Additionally, review the terms of use and copyrights on any resource you find.
Best Bets: Open Access Journals
- Digital Commons NetworkThe Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, this dynamic research tool includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. Subjects included are: Law, Social and Behavioral Sciences; Arts and Humanities; Physical Sciences and Mathematics; Life Sciences; Education; Engineering; Medicine and Health Sciences; Business; and Architecture.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals."
- Journal of Public Relations EducationThe Journal of Public Relations Education (JPRE) is devoted to the presentation of research and commentary that advances the field of public relations education.
- Public Library of Sciences (PLOS) CollectionsPLOS Collections aggregate and curate related content from PLOS journals and the PLOS Blogs Network to provide structured access to papers of interest in the PLOS corpus and demonstrate innovative approaches to the assessment, organization and reuse of research, data and commentary. PLOS Collections can be broadly divided into two types: archive and special collections.
- PubMed Central (PMC), U.S. National Library of MedicinePubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- ScienceDirect Open AccessScienceDirect is a scientific, technical, and health database. Through this particular resources, you may search Open Access articles from ScienceDirect.
- SpringerOpenSpringerOpen publishes a wide selection of open access books across various disciplines. All SpringerOpen books are freely available online at SpringerLink and listed in the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB). Additionally, Springer Open has 160+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science ranging from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus.
- Taylor & Francis Online Open JournalsTaylor & Francis and Routledge currently publish a number of pure open access journals, with no subscription content. The articles in these journals receive both rigorous peer review and expedited online publication. Authors have the option of publishing their open access article under a Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license, as mandated by some research funders.
- Wiley Open AccessWiley Open Access journals are supported by a network of authoritative journals and societies as well as internationally renowned editorial board members. All research articles published in Wiley Open Access journals are immediately freely available to read, download, and share. Created by John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
Other OER Journal Article Resources
- BioMed Central JournalsBioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals covering biology, medicine, and health.
- Oxford Open Journals, Oxford University PressThe following are open journals available through Oxford: AoB PLANTS; Arthropod Management Tests; Bioscience Horizons; Clinical Kidney Journal; Conservation Physiology; Database; DNA Research; Dynamics and Statistics of the Climate System - An Interdisciplinary Journal; Environmental Epigenetics; Evolution, Medicine, & Public Health; Gastroenterology Report; Genome Biology and Evolution; International Journal of Low-Carbon Technologies; International Journal of Neuropsychopharmacology; Journal of Cybersecurity; Journal of Hip Preservation Surgery; Journal of Integrable Systems; Journal of Integrated Pest Management; Journal of Insect Science; Journal of Law and the Biosciences; Journal of Legal Analysis; Journal of Radiation Research; Journal of Surgical Case Reports; Journal of Urban Ecology; Neuroscience of Consciousness; Nucleic Acids Research; Open Forum Infectious Diseases; Oxford Medical Case Reports (OMCR); Progress of Theoretical and Experimental Physics (PTEP); Regenerative Biomaterials; Transactions of the London Mathematical Society; and Virus Evolution.
- PeerJPeerJ’s mission is to publish the world’s knowledge through open access licensing. PeerJ has two peer-reviewed publications, “PeerJ” and “PeerJ Computer Service,” and one pre-print publication, “PeerJ PrePrints,” covering medical, biological, and computer sciences.
- PubMed Central (PMC), U.S. National Library of MedicinePubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).