Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We Are Better Than This by We Are Better Than This fundamentally reframes budget debates in the United States. Author Edward D. Kleinbard explains how the public's preoccupation with tax policy alone has obscured any understanding of government's ability to complement the private sector through investment and insurance programs that enhance the general welfare and prosperity of our society at large. He argues that when we choose how government should spend and tax, we open a window into our "fiscal soul," because those choices are the means by which we express the values we cherish and the regard in which we hold our fellow citizens. Though these values are being diminished by short-sighted decisions to starve government, strategic government spending can directly make citizens happier, healthier, and even wealthier. Expertly combining the latest economic research with his insider knowledge of the budget process into a simple yet compelling narrative, he unmasks the tax mythologies and false arguments that too often dominate contemporary discourse about budget policies. Large quantities of comparative data are succinctly distilled to situate the United States among its peer countries, so that readers can judge for themselves whether contemporary budget choices really reflect our aspirational fiscal soul. Kleinbard's presentation takes a multi-disciplinary approach, drawing on economics, finance, law, political science and moral philosophy. He uniquely weaves economic research and moral philosophy together by emphasizing our welfare, not just our national income, and by contrasting the actual beliefs of Adam Smith, a great moral philosopher, with the cartoon version of the man presented by proponents of the most extreme forms of private market triumphalism.
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
The Practice of Government Public Relations by The ability to communicate effectively has an increasing role in public administration. The book guides readers through the ins and outs of external communications. It highlights the importance of government public relations as a tool that can help all public sector agencies implement their missions and increase accountability. The author presents an up-to-date overview of best practices in the field of government public relations, as identified by leading researchers and practitioners. He provides an understanding of the uses of PR tools such as media relations; contributing to an informed public; listening to the citizenry; and crisis management to advance the goals of public agencies.
Publication Date: 2011-08-04
Accountability and Democracy by Few political concepts are as emblematic of our era as democratic accountability. In a time of political and economic turmoil, in which global forces have destabilized conventional relations of political authority, democratic accountability has come to symbolize both what is absent and what isdesired in our polity. Situated at the intersection of democratic theory and international studies, Accountability and Democracy provides an in-depth critical analysis of accountability. Through an engagement with several key democratic traditions, both ancient and modern, the book paints a richpicture of democratic accountability as a multi-dimensional concept harboring competing imperatives and diverse instantiations. Contrary to dominant views that emphasize discipline and control, Craig Borowiak offers an original and refreshing view of democratic accountability as a source of mutuality, participation, and political transformation. He both creatively engages conventional electoral models of accountability andmoves beyond them by situating democratic accountability within more deliberative, participatory and agonistic contexts. Provocatively, the book also challenges deep-seated understandings of democratic accountability as an expression of popular sovereignty. Borowiak instead argues that accountablegovernance is incompatible with all claims to ultimate authority, regardless of whether they refer to the demos, the state, or cosmopolitan public law. Rather than conceiving of democratic accountability as a way to legitimize a secure and sovereign political order, the book contends thatdestabilization and democratic insurgence are indispensable and often neglected facets of democratic accountability practices. For contemporary scholars, practitioners and activists grappling with the challenge of building democratic legitimacy into world politics, the book urges greater reflexivity and nuance in how democratic accountability is evoked and implemented. It offers insights into the myriad ways democraticaccountability has been thwarted in the past, while also cultivating a sense of expanded possibility for how it might be conceived for the present.
Publication Date: 2011-10-07
American Privacy by As America reacts to Edward Snowden's leaks about NSA surveillance, "American Privacy" offers a timely look at our national experience with the right to privacy. "The history of America "is "the history of the right to privacy," writes Frederick S. Lane in this vivid and penetrating exploration of our most hotly debated constitutional right. From Governor William Bradford opening colonists' mail bound for England, to President George W. Bush's expansive domestic wiretapping, the motivations behind government surveillance have changed little despite rapid advances in communications technology. Yet all too often, American citizens have been their own worst enemies when it comes to protecting privacy, compliantly forgoing civil liberties in extreme times of war as well as for everyday consumer conveniences. Each of us now contributes to an ever-evolving electronic dossier of online shopping sprees, photo albums, health records, and political contributions, accessible to almost anyone who cares to look. In a digitized world where data lives forever, Lane urges us to consider whether privacy is even a possibility. How did we arrive at this breaking point? "American Privacy" traces the lineage of cultural norms and legal mandates that have swirled around the Fourth Amendment since its adoption. In 1873, the introduction of postcards split American opinion of public propriety. Over a century later, Twitter takes its place on the spectrum of human connection. Between these two nodes, Anthony Comstock waged a moral crusade against obscene literature, George Orwell penned "1984," Joseph McCarthy hunted Communists and "perverts," President Richard Nixon surveilled himself right out of office, and the Supreme Court of the United States issued its most influential legal opinions concerning the right to privacy to date. Captured here, these historic snapshots add up to a lively narration of privacy's champions and challengers. Legally, technologically, and historically grounded, "American Privacy" concludes with a call for Congress to recognize how innovation and infringement go hand-in-hand, and a challenge to citizens to protect privacy before it is lost completely. "From the Trade Paperback edition."
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
The New York Times on the Presidency, 1853-2008 by An exciting and affordable new volume offering a unique perspective on the Oval Officenbsp;The first title in a new imprint that pairs expert political analysis with rich historical news coverage, The New York Times on the Presidency is a fascinating new reference book that uses nearly 150 years ofnbsp; New York Times&BAD:rsquo; reporting to explore the dynamic nature of the presidency in the American political system.nbsp; Presidential scholar Meena Bose has selectively chosen a variety of news articles, editorials, and data from The Times for which she has written context-providing narrative that discusses the key issues, leadership challenges, and turning points in each president&BAD:rsquo;s administration, from Franklin Pierce (1853-1857) through George W. Bush (2001-2008). The New York Times on the Presidency provides readers with insight into the stories of 29 presidents spanning three centuries, as well as the effect The New York Times&BAD:rsquo; position may have had on the issues of their day.nbsp;Selected documents from the New York Times include:nbsp; News storiesEditorials and letters to the editorOp ed essaysPicturesPublic opinion polling dataObituariesnbsp;The New York Times on the Presidency launches the new TimesReference series from CQ Press. The series is designed to support high school and college curricula and course work, focusing on topics in American government, U.S. history, elections, Congress, the presidency, the U.S. Supreme Court, journalism and public opinion. Just in time for the 2008 election, The New York Times on the Presidency will find a home in high school, public, and undergraduate libraries.
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Making News at the New York Times by Making News at The New York Timesnbsp;is the first in-depth portrait of the nation's, if not the world's, premier newspaper in the digital age. It presents a lively chronicle of months spent in the newsroom observing daily conversations, meetings, and journalists at work. We see Page One meetings, articles developed for online and print from start to finish, the creation of ambitious multimedia projects, and the ethical dilemmas posed by social media in the newsroom. Here, the reality of creating news in a 24/7 instant information environment clashes with the storied history of print journalism, and the tensions present a dramatic portrait of news in the online world. This news ethnography brings to bear the overarching value clashes at play in a digital news world. The book argues that emergent news values are reordering the fundamental processes of news production. Immediacy, interactivity, and participation now play a role unlike any time before, creating clashes between old and new. These values emerge from the social practices, pressures, and norms at play inside the newsroom as journalists attempt to negotiate the new demands of their work. Immediacy forces journalists to work in a constant deadline environment, an ASAP world, but one where the vaunted traditions of yesterday's news still appear in the next day's print paper. Interactivity, inspired by the new user-computer directed capacities online and the immersive Web environment, brings new kinds of specialists into the newsroom, but exacts new demands upon the already taxed workflow of traditional journalists. And at time where social media presents the opportunity for new kinds of engagement between the audience and media, business executives hope for branding opportunities while journalists fail to truly interact with their readers.
Publication Date: 2014-04-24
The Presidency A to Z by The Presidency A to Z is an invaluable tool for understanding the presidency, both historically and today and for appraising how it and the executive branch have responded to the challenges facing the nation. It provides readers with quick information and in-depth background on the presidency through a comprehensive encyclopedia of over 300 easy-to-read entries. Readers will find: - biographies of every president and many others important to the office Explanations of broader concepts and powers relating to the presidency - discussions of relations with Congress, the Supreme Court, the bureaucracy, political parties, the media, interest groups and the public. The Presidency A to Z includes all the features that made earlier editions so popular: charts, tables, lists, photographs, cartoons, indexes, a bibliography and cross-references.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Encyclopedia of the Fourth Amendment, 2-Volume Set by Covering the key concepts, events, laws and legal doctrines, court decisions, and litigators and litigants, this new reference on the law of search and seizure in the physical as well as the online world provides a unique overview for individuals seeking to understand the Fourth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. More than 900 A to Z entries cover the key issues that surround this essential component of the Bill of Rights and the linchpin of a right to privacy. This two-volume reference from the editors of CQ Press s award-winning Encyclopedia of the First Amendment features a series of essays that examine the historical background of the Fourth Amendment along with its key facets relating to: Technology Privacy Terrorism Warrant requirement Congress States A to Z entries include cross-references and bibliographic entries. This work also features both alphabetical and topical tables of contents as well as a comprehensive subject index and a case index.At a time when threats of crime and terrorism have resulted in increased governmental surveillance into personal lives, this work will serve as an important asset for researchers seeking information on the history and relevance of legal rights against such intrusions. Key Features: More than 900 signed entries, including 600 court cases and 100 biographies Preface by noted journalist Nat Hentoff From the editors of CQ Press s award-winning Encyclopedia of the First Amendment "
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
American Government, Second Edition by This exciting new book explores the role of government, politics, and policy in American lives. Full of real life applications and scenarios, this text encourages and enables political thinking. The second edition has been updated to include recent developments in U.S. politics and government. This includes the description and analysis of the 2016 elections as well as the early Trump administration. Chapters have expanded coverage of immigration policy, environmental policy, economic policy, and global affairs (including counterterrorism policy). The text also includes analysis of racial issues in contemporary American politics and law. It also addresses questions about the state of the economy, jobs, and wages.Hyperlinks and URLs provide ?deeper dives? into various topics and examples of comparative politics.
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
Reference Books that check out!
Encyclopedia of the U. S. Census by Highlights changes in the US Census Bureau's data collection and dissemination practices for the 2010 enumeration, including the use of a short-form questionnaire for the actual population count, and the release in late 2010 of the American Community Survey (ACS) 5-year data set based on rolling samples of the US population.
Publication Date: 2011-10-17
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more. Each article, specially commissioned for this book, goes beyond basic facts to provide readers with crucial context, expert analysis, and informed perspectives on the evolution of American politics. Written by more than 170 leading historians and social scientists, The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History gives students, scholars, and researchers authoritative introductions to the subject's most important topics and a first step to further research. Features nearly 190 entries, organized alphabetically and written by a distinguished team of scholars, including Dean Baker, Lewis L. Gould, Alexander Keyssar, James T. Kloppenberg, Patricia Nelson Limerick, Lisa McGirr, Mark A. Noll, Jack N. Rakove, Nick Salvatore, Stephen Skowronek, Jeremi Suri, and Julian E. Zelizer Describes key political periods and eras, from the founding to the present day Traces the history of political institutions, parties, and founding documents Explains ideas, philosophies, and movements that shaped American politics Presents the political history and influence of geographic regions Describes the roles of ethnic, racial, and religious groups in the political process Explores the influence of mass culture, from political cartoons to the Internet Examines recurring issues that shape political campaigns and policy, from class, gender, and race to crime, education, taxation, voting, welfare, and much more Includes bibliographies, cross-references, appendixes, a comprehensive index, and more than 50 illustrations and maps
Publication Date: 2009-11-29
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections by Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections provides comprehensive coverage of the American election process and its political parties. A complete A-to-Z reference guide, it covers the people, events, and terms involved in the electoral process. Coverage also includes the history of elections in the United States, focusing primarily on the presidential elections. Helpful features such as 65 engaging black-and-white photographs and illustrations, detailed appendixes, and an index make this concise reference browsable and accessible to the general reader. Entries include: Absentee voting Blue states Campaign ethics Dark horse candidate Dirty campaign tricks Election fraud Electoral College Fund-raising Internet voting League of Women Voters Lincoln-Douglas debates Machine politics Populist Party Recall Republican Party Super Tuesday Voter turnout Wedge issues.
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments by This book offers a set of alphabetically organized entries designed as a one-stop resource for high school and college students, members of the general public, and scholars interested in the numerous proposals that individuals have introduced to amend the U.S. Constitution. First published to universal acclaim, including a "Best Reference Book" citation from Library Journal, John Vile's award-winning Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues has long served as the definitive work on this vast and essential subject. Expanded and updated, the new Third Edition of this landmark resource takes its place as the most comprehensive and up-to-date reference of its kind. With over 500 alphabetically organized entries, the Encyclopedia tells the whole story of constitutional amendments: the rigorous ratification process, the significance of the 27 amendments that made it into the Constitution, and the notable and sometimes preposterous topics of the thousands that did not. The third edition offers a new preface, updated research throughout, and over 75 new entries, including discussions of amendments currently under consideration, such as proposals to ban burning the U.S. flag, legalize school prayer, and compel the federal government to balance the budget. _ Over 500 A_Z entries on amendments, proposed amendments, alternate constitutions, and amending issues _ A chronology of the most popular amending proposals by year and key events and publications related to constitutional amendments _ Primary documents, including the U.S. Constitution and its amendments _ An extensive bibliography plus suggestions for further reading for each entry _ A comprehensive index
Publication Date: 2010-04-22
Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development. Useful for educators, researchers, students, publishers, librarians, and patrons, Book Review Digest Plus provides access to concise, critical evaluations for books with subject coverage in areas such as art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences and many more
Books in Print Books in Print is a tool for finding books and multimedia published in any format, including e-books. It also contains book reviews, availability information, and synopses. The new interface allows users to create custom lists of titles. unlimited users. Content updated irregularly