Dr. Gary Bugh
Professor of Political Science
- Incorporation of the Bill of Rights: An Accounting of the Supreme Court’s Extension of Federal Civil Liberties to the States.
Gary Bugh. Incorporation of the Bill of Rights: An Accounting of the Supreme Court’s Extension of Federal Civil Liberties to the States. New York: Peter Lang, 2023.
"In the first work of its kind, Incorporation of the Bill of Rights provides a detailed account of the Supreme Court’s application of federal rights to the state level. Approaching the Bill of Rights amendment by amendment and right by right, Gary Bugh’s content analysis of Court opinions reveals what justices regard as the incorporation status and most relevant case for each right. Along with finding that the Court has incorporated nearly the entire Bill of Rights, Professor Bugh offers new insights into unincorporated rights and addresses the judiciary’s various theoretical defenses for protecting civil liberties from state infringement. This definitive inventory of incorporated rights is essential for law and government teachers and practitioners at all levels of government."--Publisher's website. - Essays in a Book
David A. Schultz, ed. Money in American Politics. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2018. - Articles in a Book
Excellence in First Amendment Studies. The First Amendment Encyclopedia. Murfreesboro: Middle Tennessee State and Washington, DC: Sage, 2016. - Electoral College Reform: Challenges and Possibilities
Gary Bugh, ed. Electoral College Reform: Challenges and Possibilities. Paperback ed. New York: Routledge, 2016. - Article in a Book
"Models of Civic Education in America." Michael T. Rogers and Donald M. Gooch, eds. Civic Education in the 21st Century: A Multi-dimensional Inquiry. Lanham, MD: Lexington Books, 2015. - Chapter in a Book
"“Civil Rights.” The Encyclopedia of Political Thought, ed. Michael T. Gibbons. San
Francisco: Wiley-Blackwell Publishers, 2012."
Electoral College Reform by ISBN: 9780754694922Publication Date: 2010-05-28Bugh, G. (2010). Electoral college reform : challenges and possibilities (Ser. Election law, politics, and theory). Ashgate Pub.
Political Science Professor Gary Bugh edited this highly-praised book and wrote four of the peer-reviewed chapters.
Publisher Website (Ashgate is now under Routledge): https://www.routledge.com/Electoral-College-Reform-Challenges-and-Possibilities/Bugh/p/book/9781138260344
TAMUT Library: JK529 .E54 2010
Why hasn't the United States reformed the Electoral College system, and how can it best do so? To address these questions, Electoral College Reform: Challenges and Possibilities brings together new essays by law professors and political scientists examining the reasons for reform, the issues surrounding a Constitutional amendment, the effect of the Electoral College on political campaigns and government policymaking, and the possibilities for extra-Constitutional avenues to change, including the courts and the state legislatures.
Encyclopedia of the First Amendment by Call Number: FOLIO KF4770 .E53 2009ISBN: 9780872893115Publication Date: 2008-09-25From public aid to parochial schools to censorship of library books, Americans are intensely interested in their expressive rights of speech, press, assembly and religion. They are also concerned about censorship, tolerance of pornography and obscenity, and about their security in a post 9-11 world. In the first work of its kind, this new and exciting two-volume reference comprehensively examines all the freedoms in the First Amendment, including free speech, press, assembly, petition, and religion. Encyclopedia of the First Amendment covers the political, historical, and cultural significance of the First Amendment. It provides exclusive, singular focus on what most people consider the essential elements of the Bill of Rights and the basic liberties that Americans enjoy. Arranged in traditional A to Z encyclopedia format, this work traces themes like expressive rights in American political and legal history, in American political thought and social movements, in political and popular culture, and in the arts, along with the classic tensions between freedom of the individual and maintenance of political order. The set also features a chronology, seven introductory essays covering the core rights and liberties, a bibliography, and subject and case indexes. Additional tables of content give readers easy ways to find entries by topic or case.
Political Science Professor Gary Bugh contributed several essays to this book.
Publisher Website: https://sk.sagepub.com/cqpress/encyclopedia-of-the-first-amendment
- Book ReviewReview of The End of Inequality: One Person, One Vote and the Transformation of American Politics, by Stephen Ansolabehere and James M. Snyder Jr. Congress and the Presidency: A Journal of Capital Studies 36, no. 2 (May 2009): 220–22.
- Book ReviewReview of Realities of Redistricting: Following the Rules and Limiting Gerrymandering in State Legislative Redistricting, by Jonathan Winburn. Law & Politics Book Review 18, no. 11 (November 29, 2008): 1058–1060.
- Journal Article“The Constitutional Basis of the State-Run Electoral College.” The Social Studies Texan: The Official Publication of the Texas Council for the Social Studies 24, no. 2 (Summer 2008): 62–63.
Encyclopedia of Media and Politics by ISBN: 9781568028354Publication Date: 2006-10-27The relationship between media and politics receives constant attention and creates heated debate. The Encyclopedia of Media and Politics offers an authoritative, unbiased exploration of the intersection between media and politics, from larger themes such as the role of media in civil, democratic society, to more specific topics such as media ownership and regulation. The topics covered include: Business and institutional aspects of the media; Evolution and impact of different media including newspapers; broadcast and cable television; and new technologies; Coverage of and relations with the White House, Congress, political parties, and other political institutions; Legislation and court cases affecting the media; Important debates, such as those over media bias and election coverage; Profiles of organizations and agencies, such as the Federal Communications Commission; Profiles of influential media outlets; Biographies of important figures. With articles contributed by scholars and practitioners, this volume provides both academic analysis and practical insights on the history, impact, and roles of the media in politics. Additional key information is provided through photographs, tables, figures, appendices, and an index. School, academic, and public libraries as well as libraries that serve media and professionals in related areas will want to acquire this important new resource for their patrons.
Political Science Professor Gary Bugh contributed an essay to this book.
Publisher website: https://us.sagepub.com/en-us/nam/encyclopedia-of-media-and-politics/book236281
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections by Call Number: FOLIO JK2261 .S218 2006ISBN: 9781438109947Publication Date: 2009-01-01This new volume contains all the material a reader needs to understand the American election process and its political parties. This complete A-to-Z reference guide covers the people, events, and terms involved in the electoral process. It also provides the history of elections in the United States, focusing primarily on the presidential elections. Appendix material includes the results for every presidential election.
Political Science Professor Gary Bugh contributed an essay to this book.
Publisher website: https://www.infobasepublishing.com/Bookdetail.aspx?ISBN=081605875X&Ebooks=0
- The encyclopedia of New York State
Political Science Professor Gary Bugh contributed several essays to this book.
Publisher website: https://press.syr.edu/supressbooks/313/encyclopedia-of-new-york-state/