Faculty & Staff Authors: M

McHenry, B., & McHenry, J. (2021). What therapists say and why they say it : effective therapeutic responses and techniques (Third). Routledge.


What Therapists Say and Why They Say It, Third Edition, is one of the most practical and flexible textbooks available to counseling students. The new edition includes more than one hundred techniques and more than a thousand specific therapeutic responses that elucidate not just why but also how to practice good therapy. Transcripts show students how to integrate and develop content during sessions, and practice exercises help learners develop, discuss, combine, and customize various approaches to working with clients. Specific additions have been added to address the use of technology in therapy, as well as basic core competencies expected for all therapists. "Stop and Reflect" sections have been introduced to chapters, along with guidance on the level of skill associated with each individual technique. Designed specifically for use as a main textbook, What Therapists Say and Why They Say It is also arranged to help students make clear connections between the skills they learn in pre-practicum, practicum, and internship with other courses in the curriculum--especially the eight core Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) areas.

McHenry, B. (2018). In Career assessments and personality inventories (pp. 61–70). essay. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315279534-5


Tests and Assessments in Counseling provides students with current information on assessment tools and techniques through detailed case scenarios and vignettes. Going beyond basic information about a multitude of assessments, the authors focus on the use of instruments in individual cases to allow readers to more fully grasp the integral relationship between tests and assessment data and the counseling process. Chapters guide students through choosing the most effective assessment tool, successfully administering the assessment, and making meaningful and useful results of the data with the client. Test questions are also included at the end of each chapter.

Sartor, T. A., McHenry, B., & McHenry, J. (Eds.). (2017). Ethical and legal issues in counseling children and adolescents. Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group.


Ethical and Legal Issues in Counseling Children and Adolescents provides counselors and other professionals with clinical cases and accurate, up-to-date information on both ethical standards and case law. Chapters take a comprehensive, developmental approach to legal and ethical decision making when counseling children and adolescents, one that presents each chapter topic from the perspective of an adult and then explores accommodations important to children and adolescents. The book is a vital resource for faculty who recognize the limited scope with which other texts cover the topic and for practitioners looking to better understand the legal and ethical concerns around working with young people.

Brooks, F., & McHenry, B. (2015). Contemporary approach to substance abuse and addiction counseling : a counselor's guide to application and understanding (2nd ed (Online-ausg.), Ser. Ebl-schweitzer). Wiley.


Written as an introduction to the field of addiction counseling, this text covers the fundamental knowledge and skills necessary to counsel people who are struggling with addiction. Drs. Brooks and McHenry provide a straightforward and holistic approach to treatment and recovery, from the major theoretical underpinnings, to assessment and diagnosis, to relapse prevention and spirituality. With a focus on current clinical applications and how-tos, this book is ideal both for master's-level addictions courses and mental health clinicians. Topics covered are cultural and gender issues, including work with LGBT clients; drug classifications and referral; assessment, diagnosis, and interview techniques; the continuum from nonuse to addiction; work in college/university, school, and community/mental health agency settings; developmental approaches in treatment; the role of the family; grief and loss in addiction; group counseling; relapse and recovery; spirituality and support groups; addictions training, certification, and ethics; and the importance of counselor self-care. Exploration questions and suggested activities are presented in each chapter. *Requests for digital versions from the ACA can be found on wiley.com.  *To request print copies, please visit the ACA website here  *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org.

McHenry, B., Sikorski, A. M., & McHenry, J. (2014). A counselor's introduction to neuroscience. Routledge.


A Counselor's Introduction to Neuroscience is a guidebook to neurobiology that is customized for counselors' unique goals and requirements. Drawing on years of experience, not only in the lab, but in the counselor's chair, the authors unravel the complexities of neuroscience and present an easily understood volume that is an essential companion for any counselor who wishes to expand his or her understanding of the human brain, how it works, and how it creates our identities.

McHenry, B., Butler, S. K., & McHenry, J. (2012). Attaining an academic appointment. Atwood Pub.


Attaining an Academic Appointment is designed specifically for doctoral students and other academics searching for a relevant and productive position. Drawing on their experiences on both sides of the appointment process, as both applicant and search committee member, they share strategies to maximize opportunities and practical advice to minimize surprises.

Morrissey, T. F. (2000). Between the lines : photographs from the national vietnam veterans memorial (1st ed.). Syracuse University Press.


This is a collection of photographs that not only captures the faces of those who visit the National Vietnam Veterans Memorial but the emotion, solitutde, and ultimate spirit of healing that takes place there. It is the most visited memorial in the history of the United States.

Morton, D. (2017). Panel to the screen : style, american film, and comic books during the blockbuster era. University Press of Mississippi.


Over the past forty years, American film has entered into a formal interaction with the comic book. Such comic book adaptations as Sin City, 300, and Scott Pilgrim vs. the World have adopted components of their source materials' visual style. The screen has been fractured into panels, the photographic has given way to the graphic, and the steady rhythm of cinematic time has evolved into a far more malleable element. In other words, films have begun to look like comics. Yet, this interplay also occurs in the other direction. In order to retain cultural relevancy, comic books have begun to look like films. Frank Miller's original Sin City comics are indebted to film noir while Stephen King's The Dark Tower series could be a Sergio Leone spaghetti western translated onto paper. Film and comic books continuously lean on one another to reimagine their formal attributes and stylistic possibilities. In Panel to the Screen, Drew Morton examines this dialogue in its intersecting and rapidly changing cultural, technological, and industrial contexts. Early on, many questioned the prospect of a "low" art form suited for children translating into "high" art material capable of drawing colossal box office takes. Now the naysayers are as quiet as the queued crowds at Comic-Cons are massive. Morton provides a nuanced account of this phenomenon by using formal analysis of the texts in a real-world context of studio budgets, grosses, and audience reception.

Murray, K. (2017) Prison Subculture, In Kerley, Kent R. (ed.), The encyclopedia of corrections (Ser. The wiley series of encyclopedias in criminology and criminal justice, 4). John Wiley & Sons.


A comprehensive, up-to-date, and authoritative two volume reference work for the fields of corrections and criminal justice featuring over 280 detailed scholarly entries Assembles a global team of experts from within their respective fields under the guidance of Editor-in-Chief Kent R. Kerley Provides comprehensive coverage of key topics in corrections, including  history, trends and types of punishment,  correctional theory, policy, and law Summarizes the latest theory and practice in major topical areas such as sentencing, community corrections, jails and prisons, special populations, women, juveniles, treatment, prisoner reentry, and the death penalty Brings together cutting-edge examples from criminal justice systems throughout the US and around the world to provide an essential go-to resource for students, scholars, and researchers This work is also available as an online resource: www.encyclopediaofcorrections.com